Selected from over 80 submissions from 27 countries, the 2018 Climate & Clean Air Awards finalists represent a wide range of projects and individual efforts to reduce dangerous air and climate pollutants.

Find out about the finalists and cast your vote for the winner in the People’s Choice category below.


Individual category

Leonardo DiCaprio and Ban Ki-moon (right)
Supporting urgent climate action through personal activism and the initiatives of the Leonardo DiCaprio Foundation
Hal Harvey
Transforming philanthropic investment in climate action and promoting practical, results-driven solutions
Minister Catherine McKenna
Introducing short-lived climate pollutant policy in Canada and rallying support to lead the Kigali Amendment into force
Dr. Mario Molina
Galvanizing international policy action on climate change and air quality through his research on the impacts of short-lived climate pollutants
Dist. Prof. Veerabhadran Ramanathan
Pioneering scientific work on short-lived climate pollutants and advocating urgent action on global warming and air pollution
Minister Xie Zhenhua
Stewarding climate and clean air policy in China and playing a key role in leading the Paris Agreement’s entry into force

Innovation category

Providing affordable cold storage to smallholder farmers in Africa through solar powered, HFC-free refrigeration units
Enabling households in Kenya and Ghana to access clean cooking fuel using mobile 'Pay-As-You-Cook' technology
Reducing methane emissions from gas flaring with power generation facilities that generate electricity from associated gas
RDRS Bangladesh initiative
Promoting alternate rice farming practices that reduce methane emissions and support the wellbeing of local farmers
SimGas initiative
Producing safe cooking fuel and reducing short-lived climate pollutant emissions with domestic biogas digesters
Three Wheels United
Providing affordable finance for smart, electric auto rickshaws and integrating them with public transportation infrastructure

Policy change category

Beijing, China
Mandatory national vehicle standards to drastically reduce particulate matter and black carbon emissions
Pune waste management program
Innovative waste management solutions that reduce short-lived climate pollutant emissions and generate economic opportunity
Santiago city bus
First commitment to soot-free technology for PM2.5 and NOx emission reductions in the Latin American and Caribbean region

Awards ceremony

Award recipients will be announced at a high level ceremony during the Global Climate Action Summit in San Francisco, California (USA). The event will take place from 16:30 to 18:30, on September 11, 2018 and be followed by a cocktail reception. The event will give winners the opportunity to showcase their work to attendees and media. 

Members of the public are welcome to attend the event and can register here.

Jury panel

This year's winners will be selected by panel of ditinguished jury members. They are:

  • Ms. Bahijjahtu Abubakar, Head of Climate Mitigation (Clean Energy), Nigeria Ministry of Environment
  • Ms. Rita Cerutti, Director General of Policy and Planning, Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency
  • Mr. Emmanuel de Guzman, Secretary and Vice Chairperson, Philippine Climate Change Commission
  • Mr. Manuel Pulgar-Vidal, Head of Climate and Energy Practice, WWF International 
  • Dr. Youba Sokona, Vice-Chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
Back to Top