Two Co-Chairs of the Working Group are elected by country partners for staggered two-year terms.
The current Co-Chairs are:

Janine Kuriger

Head, Global Programme Climate Change and Environment
Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation

Janine Kuriger is Head of Division at the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA). Her team is responsible for bilateral and multilateral climate change and environment cooperation, such as Switzerland’s contribution to the Climate and Clean Air Coalition.

She has longstanding experience in development cooperation and previously served as the Head of the SDC office in India where she was in charge of the climate change programme. Since joining the Swiss development cooperation, she has held various positions at SDC’s headquarter in Bern, the SDC cooperation office in Peru and the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) in Bern, working mostly on environmental and climate change issues. She has extensive knowledge both in climate change adaptation and mitigation. Among others, she was involved in the development and implementation of projects in the fields of clean air, energy efficiency in brick kilns and buildings, cleaner production in industries as well as the promotion of renewable energies. Ms. Kuriger is well connected with the civil society, academia, private sector as well as international organizations.

She holds a Master of Arts in Political Science and an Executive Master in Business Administration.

Peter Justice Dery

Director, Environment Division
Ministry of Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation (MESTI), Ghana

Mr. Peter Justice Dery is a Director responsible for the Environment Division at the Ministry of Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation, Ghana. Prior to that he was Head of Climate Change and Sustainable Development Policy at the Ministry. He  holds other responsibilities including the Climate and Clean Air Coalition (CCAC) focal point for Ghana, Ghana’s Designated National Authority for Clean Development Mechanism (CDM), CBD Primary Focal Point, Chairman of the Governing Board of the West African Science Centre for Climate Change and Adapted Land Use for the Sub region, Steering Committee member of the Regional  Centre for Energy and sustainability of the University of Energy and Natural Resources, Sunyani, Board member of the West Africa Resilience Lab at the University for Development Studies, School of Medical and Health Sciences in Ghana.

He has coordinated a number of initiatives, including the CCAC Supporting National Action Planning/Institutional Support project, the development of Ghana’s INDCs to the UNFCCC, the implementation of environment and climate related projects at the national and community level notably, the Ghana Adaptation Fund Project, Partnership Action on Green Economy (PAGE) Project, Green Climate Fund Readiness Project and NDC Support Programme. He is the Coordinator of the National Climate Change Steering Committee and chairs a number of green economy and climate change related committees at the national level.

He holds a Bachelor of Arts and an LLB respectively from the University of Ghana and a professional Barrister at Law from the Ghana School of Law. He has Masters in Public Policy and Administration. He has received specialized training in Environmental Law, Climate Change and Policy from different international institutions including the International Development Law organization, Nanyang Technological University (NTU) of Singapore, National Environment Institute of Korea, National Development Commission of China, and the United Nations. Mr Dery is currently a PhD candidate awaiting to graduate with specialization in Environmental Governance from the Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration.

Back to Top