الكاميرون - تطوير مواطن SLCP الخطة وخريطة الطريق الوطنية للميثان

المنطق

يتضمن البلاغ الوطني الثاني للكاميرون بشأن تغير المناخ بيانات أساسية عن انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة في القطاعات التالية: الطاقة والعمليات الصناعية والزراعة وتغيير استخدام الأراضي واستخدام الأراضي والغابات والنفايات.

كان أكسيد النيتروز (N2O) هو الغاز الرئيسي المنبعث في عام 2000 حيث ساهم بنسبة 56% في إجمالي الانبعاثات معبرًا عنها بثاني أكسيد الكربون.2  المكافئ، يليه الميثان بنسبة 34% من الإجمالي معبرًا عنه بثاني أكسيد الكربون.

صدقت الكاميرون على اتفاق باريس في عام 2016 وقدمت مساهمتها المحددة وطنيا المحدثة إلى اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ (UNFCCC) في نوفمبر 2021، مع الالتزام بخفض انبعاثات الغازات الدفيئة بنسبة 35٪ بحلول عام 2030 بشرط الحصول على التمويل. الكاميرون هي أيضًا من الدول الموقعة على الاتفاقية Global Methane Pledge، والتي تلتزم بموجبها الدولة طوعًا بالهدف الجماعي المتمثل في تقليل انبعاثات غاز الميثان العالمية بنسبة 30٪ على الأقل من مستويات 2020 بحلول عام 2030. 

مواطنا SLCP ستكون الخطة وخارطة طريق الميثان للكاميرون أساسية لتحويل التزامات البلاد المناخية إلى إجراءات وطنية هادفة للتخفيف في قطاعات المصادر ذات الأولوية المحددة. ومع ذلك، لا تمتلك الكاميرون مخزونًا محدثًا من الغازات الدفيئة وملوثات المناخ قصيرة العمر. وهذا القصور يعيق اتخاذ إجراءات مجدية للتخفيف من الانبعاثات. 

سيقوم هذا المشروع بتطوير تقييم لتخفيف انبعاثات غاز الميثان كأساس لتحديد تدابير التخفيف ذات الأولوية ودعم التنفيذ. وسيساهم المشروع في تنفيذ المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا المحدثة في الكاميرون.

 

اهدافنا

يهدف هذا المشروع إلى:

  • تطوير الوطنية SLCP الخطة التي يمكن أن توافق عليها حكومة الكاميرون. 
  • تطوير خارطة طريق وطنية لغاز الميثان يمكن أن تعتمدها حكومة الكاميرون
  • مساعدة حكومة الكاميرون على إدراج توصيات من خارطة الطريق الوطنية لغاز الميثان SLCP أهداف خفض الانبعاثات في المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا المنقحة بحلول عام 2025. 
  • زيادة قدرة حكومة الكاميرون على SLCP التخطيط والتنفيذ. 

 

 

النشاطات

كحد أدنى، من المتوقع أن يقوم المشروع بتطوير مشروع وطني لملوثات المناخ قصيرة العمر (SLCP) خطة وخريطة طريق وطنية لغاز الميثان. وسيدعم المشروع الكاميرون في تحديد تدابير التخفيف ذات الأولوية SLCPبما في ذلك غاز الميثان، ووضع مسارات للتنفيذ.

لتحقيق هذه الأهداف ، سيقوم المشروع بما يلي:

  • إنشاء فريق عمل فني وطني يضم مسؤولين حكوميين لدعم تنفيذ المشروع؛ 
  • قم بتنظيم ورشة عمل أولية مع تدريب LEAP لـ TWG
  • جمع البيانات لتطوير الغازات الدفيئة، SLCP وجرد ملوثات الهواء باستخدام LEAP، 
  • مراجعة الكاميرون الحالية SLCP والتزامات غاز الميثان في المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا في البلاد، واستنادًا إلى التقييمات والأولويات في SLCP خطة وخريطة طريق الميثان، تقديم توصيات لإدراج المحسن SLCP وأهداف غاز الميثان في تحديثات المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا في الكاميرون في عام 2025 والسياسات والخطط الوطنية الأخرى. 
  • توفير التدريب الفني العملي للموظفين الوزاريين والجهات الفاعلة/المجموعات الأخرى ذات الصلة SLCP التخطيط والتنفيذ.

مرجع المشروع: [CM-23-001]الكاميرون – تطوير المواطن SLCP الخطة وخريطة الطريق الوطنية لغاز الميثان.

مصطلحات البحث

Cameroon – Develop a National SLCP Plan and National Methane Roadmap

Rationale

Cameroon's Second National Communication on Climate Change has baseline greenhouse gas emission data for the following sectors: energy, industrial processes, agriculture, land use change of land use & forestry, and waste.

Nitrous oxide (N2O) was the main gas emitted in 2000 with a 56% contribution to total emissions expressed in CO2  equivalent, followed by methane with 34% of the total expressed in CO2e.

Cameroon ratified the Paris Agreement in 2016 and submitted its updated NDC to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) in November 2021, committing to 35% of greenhouse gas (GHG) emission reduction by 2030 conditional on obtaining financing. Cameroon is also a signatory to the Global Methane Pledge, by which the country voluntarily commits to the collective goal of reducing global methane emissions by at least 30% from 2020 levels by 2030. 

A National SLCP Plan and Methane Roadmap for Cameroon will be key to turning the country's climate commitments into mitigation meaningful national actions in the identified priority source sectors.  Cameroon does not however have an up-to-date inventory of greenhouse gases and short-lived climate pollutants. This shortcoming impedes meaningful action to mitigate emissions. 

This project will develop a methane emissions mitigation assessment as a basis for identifying priority mitigation measures and support implementation. The project will contribute to the implementation of Cameroon’s updated NDC.

 

Objectives

This project aims to:

  • Develop a National SLCP Plan that can be endorsed by the Government of Cameroon. 
  • Develop a National Methane Roadmap that can be endorsed by the Government of Cameroon
  • Assist the Government of Cameroon to includes recommendations from the National Methane Roadmap and SLCP emissions reductions targets in their revised NDC by 2025. 
  • Increase the Government of Cameroon's capacity for SLCP planning and implementation. 

 

 

Activities

At minimum, the project is expected to develop a National Short-Lived Climate Pollutant (SLCP) Plan and a National Methane Roadmap. The project will support Cameroon in identifying priority mitigation measures for SLCPs, including methane, and develop pathways for implementation.

To achieve these objectives, the project will:

  • Establish a national technical working group comprising of government officials to support implementation of the project; 
  • Organise an inception workshop back to back with LEAP training for TWG
  • Collect data to develop the GHG , SLCP & air pollutants inventory using LEAP, 
  • Review Cameroon's current SLCP and methane commitments in the country's NDC, and based on the evaluations and prioritisation in the SLCP plan and methane roadmap, make recommendations for inclusion of enhanced SLCP and methane targets in Cameroon's NDC updates in 2025 and other national policies & plans. 
  • Provide hands-on technical training to ministerial staff and other actors/groups relevant to SLCP planning & implementation.

Project reference: [CM-23-001]Cameroon – Develop a National SLCP Plan and National Methane Roadmap.

Tags
Regions
Pollutants (SLCPs)