فيتنام - تعزيز طموح الميثان الزراعي في التزامات فيتنام المناخية

السنة
2023
التمويل:
CCAC الممولة
شركاء التنفيذ
المنطق

 

يعد قطاع الزراعة والغابات واستخدام الأراضي (AFOLU) ثالث أكبر مصدر لانبعاثات غازات الدفيئة في فيتنام (حوالي 14٪). وشكلت انبعاثات الميثان من قطاع الزراعة والاستخدامات العقارية حوالي 62% من انبعاثات فيتنام في عام 2016. 

لدى فيتنام التزامات قوية للوصول إلى صافي الصفر بحلول عام 2050، وخفض انبعاثات غاز الميثان بنسبة 30٪ بحلول عام 2030 مقارنة بعام 2020، واستبدال الطاقة الأحفورية بالطاقة المتجددة، والانضمام إلى إعلان غلاسكو بشأن استخدامات الغابات والأراضي. 

من أجل تحقيق أهداف التخفيف، واجه قطاع الزراعة واستخدام الأراضي والحراجة في فيتنام قضايا صعبة للغاية، على سبيل المثال، معظم المزارعين هم من صغار المزارعين الذين لديهم أراضي زراعية مجزأة، ونقص الاستثمار في رفع مستوى الممارسات المنخفضة الكربون، ونقص مشاركة القطاع الخاص، والأدوات والأساليب لتحديد تدابير التخفيف الأكثر جدوى من الناحية المالية والفنية.
 

يستجيب هذا المشروع لطلب وزارة الزراعة والتنمية الريفية الفيدرالية للخدمات التي تدعم الوفاء بالتزامات التخفيف في البلاد التي تم الإعلان عنها في COP26 ورفع مستوى طموح الميثان في المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا لعام 2023. 

 

اهدافنا

يهدف هذا المشروع إلى: 

  • زيادة قدرة حكومة فيتنام في مجال محاسبة غازات الدفيئة في قطاع الزراعة واستخدام الأراضي والحراجة، والأدوات المالية اللازمة لذلك SLCP تخفيف. 
  • إنتاج خارطة طريق لغاز الميثان لقطاعي إنتاج المحاصيل والثروة الحيوانية. 
  • تمكين حكومة فيتنام من زيادة طموحها فيما يتعلق بغاز الميثان في مساهمتها المحددة وطنيًا المحدثة بحلول عام 2023. 


 

أنشطة

ولتحقيق هذه الأهداف سيقوم المشروع بما يلي:   

  • تقديم ورش عمل تدريبية، مع الأدوات والمبادئ التوجيهية المرتبطة بها، حول محاسبة غازات الدفيئة (GHG) في قطاع الزراعة والغابات واستخدامات الأراضي الأخرى (AFOLU) لممثلي وزارة الزراعة والتنمية الريفية والمؤسسات الوطنية والممارسين والمنتجين لدعم إعداد التقارير المستقبلية بموجب اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ بشأن تنفيذ المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا في فيتنام. ويجب أن يشمل ذلك التدريب على منهجيات البيانات المكررة. 
  • وضع تقييم وتقرير عن حالة تخفيف غاز الميثان في فيتنام، ومسارات التنفيذ الأكثر فعالية لتحقيق تخفيف غاز الميثان من إنتاج المحاصيل والثروة الحيوانية لمساعدة فيتنام على تطوير خارطة طريق لغاز الميثان للقطاع الذي يساهم أيضًا في تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة والنمو الاقتصادي. .  
  • وضع استراتيجية استثمار يمكنها مساعدة فيتنام على تحقيق أهدافها المتعلقة بغاز الميثان، بناءً على نتائج تقييم التخفيف المذكور أعلاه. وينبغي لاستراتيجية الاستثمار أن تنظر في الروابط مع أسواق الكربون، والاستثمارات المالية في تدابير التخفيف من انخفاض الكربون/الميثان في قطاع الثروة الحيوانية، ودعم الاستثمار التكنولوجي/المالي لتحويل الغاز الحيوي إلى طاقة (الكهرباء والوقود). 
  • تطوير تحليل قائم على النموذج لقطاع الزراعة واستخدام الأراضي والحراجة باستخدام تقييم التخفيف واستراتيجيات الاستثمار كمدخلات للتحليل. سيدعم هذا التحليل تحديث فيتنام ويعزز ملوثات المناخ قصيرة العمر (SLCP) التخفيف في المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا بحلول عام 2023. 

مرجع المشروع: فيتنام - تعزيز طموح الميثان الزراعي في التزامات فيتنام المناخية [VN-22-001]
 

من يشارك


 


 

مصطلحات البحث

Vietnam - Enhancing agricultural methane ambition in Vietnam’s climate commitments

Year
2023
Funding
CCAC Funded
Implementing partners
Rationale

 

The agriculture, forestry and land use (AFOLU) sector is Vietnam's third largest greenhouse gas emission source (about 14%). Methane emissions from the AFOLU sector accounted for about 62% of Vietnam's emissions in 2016. 

Vietnam has strong comittments to reach net zero by 2050, reducing 30% of methane emissions by 2030 compared to 2020, replacing fossil by renewable energy, and joining the Glasgow Declaration on Forest and land uses. 

In order to achieve its mitigation targets, Vietnam's AFOLU sector has faced very challenging issues e.g., most of farmers  are small farmers with fragmented farming lands, lack of investment in upscaling low carbon practices, lack of participation of private sector, tools and methods to identify the most financially and technically feasible mitigations measures.
 

This project responds to the request by the Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development for services that support to meet the country’s mitigation commitments announced at COP26 and raise methane ambition in its 2023 NDCs. 

 

Objectives

This project aims to: 

  • Increase the Government of Vietnam’s capacity in GHG accounting in the AFOLU sector, and financial tools for SLCP mitigation. 
  • Produce a methane roadmap for the crop production and livestock sectors. 
  • Enable the Government of Vietnam to increase its methane ambition in its updated NDC by 2023. 


 

Activities

To achieve these objectives the project will:   

  • Deliver training workshops, with associated tools and guidelines, on greenhouse gas (GHG) accounting in the Agriculture, Forestry and Other Land Use (AFOLU) sector to representatives from the Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, national institutions, practitioners, and producers to support future reporting under the UNFCCC on Vietnam’s NDC implementation. This must include training on refined data methodologies. 
  • Develop an assessment and report on the status of methane mitigation in Vietnam, and the most effective implementation pathways for achieving methane mitigation from crop production and livestock to help Vietnam develop a methane roadmap for the sector that also contributes to its sustainable development goals and economic growth.  
  • Develop an investment strategy that can help Vietnam achieve its methane targets, building on the findings of the above mitigation assessment. The investment strategy should consider linkages to carbon markets, financial investments in low carbon/methane mitigation measures in the livestock sector, and technological/financial investment support for converting biogas to energy (electricity and fuels). 
  • Develop a model-based analysis for the AFOLU sector using the mitigation assessment and investment strategies as inputs to the analysis. This analysis will support Vietnam update and enhance short-lived climate pollutant (SLCP) mitigation in its NDC by 2023. 

Project reference: Vietnam - Enhancing agricultural methane ambition in Vietnam’s climate commitments [VN-22-001]
 

Who's involved