Climate & Clean Air Awards


About the awards

Fast action to reduce short-lived climate pollutants, such as black carbon, methane, hydrofluorocarbons and tropospheric ozone, is key to improving air quality and slowing the rate of climate change. Actions to mitigate these pollutants also provide additional benefits for health, ecosystems and the sustainable development goals.

The Climate and Clean Air Awards are given annually to recognize exceptional contributions and actions taken by individuals or groups to reduce short-lived climate pollutants. This can include transformative or innovative actions to reduce black carbon and methane emissions from household energy, transportation, municipal solid waste, the brick sector and other combustion industries, agriculture and the oil and gas industry; or to replace hydrofluorocarbons used in cooling and refrigeration.

2018 Honourees

At a gala ceremony at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, a group of real climate heroes were honoured with Climate and Clean Air Awards for actions they have taken to reduce short-lived climate pollutants and protect the climate.

Selection and winner announcement

Award winners were announced at a high level ceremony during the Global Climate Action Summit in San Francisco, California (USA) on September 11, 2018.

This year's winners were selected by panel of ditinguished jury members. They are:

  • Ms. Bahijjahtu Abubakar, Head of Climate Mitigation (Clean Energy), Nigeria Ministry of Environment
  • Ms. Rita Cerutti, Director General of Policy and Planning, Candian Northern Economic Development Agency
  • Mr. Emmanuel de Guzman, Secretary and Vice Chairperson, Philippine Climate Change Commission
  • Mr. Manuel Pulgar-Vidal, former Minister of State for Environment, Peru, and President of COP 20. He is the current head of WWF's global climate work.
  • Dr. Youba Sokona, Vice-Chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)

Past winners

The 2017 Climate and Clean Air Award winners were announced on November 12th at a ceremony at the United Nations Climate Change Conference in Bonn, Germany (COP23). The winners were selected from over 30 submissions from 17 countries, spanning four categories – Individual achievement, Outstanding policy, Innovative technology, and Transformative action.  

Meet the 2017 winners