مؤتمر المناخ والهواء النظيف 2024

-
-
(نيروبي)
غرفة الاجتماعات 1، المقر الرئيسي لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة، نيروبي
CCAC 2024 نهائي

انعقد مؤتمر المناخ والهواء النظيف 2024 في الفترة من 21 إلى 23 فبراير 2024 في نيروبي، كينيا على هامش المؤتمر الدورة السادسة لجمعية الأمم المتحدة للبيئة.

خلفيّة

جمع مؤتمر المناخ والهواء النظيف 2024 بين CCAC86 شريكًا من الدول و83 من الشركاء من غير الدول لمناقشة أحدث العلوم والسياسات، وتبادل أفضل الممارسات، ووضع أجندة مشتركة في قطاعات الانبعاثات الرئيسية مثل الزراعة والنفايات والوقود الأحفوري والطاقة المنزلية والمركبات الثقيلة والمحركات. والتبريد.

على مدى السنوات الخمس المقبلة، يتعين على العالم أن يحرز تقدما كبيرا لإبطاء أزمة المناخ، والحد من تلوث الهواء، ومعالجة الفقر وعدم المساواة التي تهدد الفئات الأكثر ضعفا. إن الإنسانية تضغط على الحدود البيئية، مما يؤدي إلى أزمات متعددة تهدد الصحة العامة، والأمن الغذائي، وسبل العيش، والنظم البيئية التي تدعمنا.

• CCAC يعمل على العلاقة بين المناخ وجودة الهواء، لتحقيق فوائد متعددة من التخفيف السريع لملوثات المناخ قصيرة العمر. وانطلاقاً من العلم والواقعية ذات الصلة بالسياسات، فإننا نعمل من الألف إلى الياء، بطريقة عادلة وشاملة، لتمكين شركائنا من تحقيق أهدافهم الوطنية وتحفيز العمل - وكذلك من الأعلى إلى الأسفل، ونجمع الوزراء والقادة معًا لدفع عجلة التقدم. طموح عالي المستوى.

النتائج الرئيسية لمؤتمر المناخ والهواء النظيف 2023 الذي عقد العام الماضي في بانكوك واضحة: التخطيط المتكامل بشأن المناخ والهواء النظيف ضروري لتحديد الإجراءات ذات الأولوية في قطاعات الانبعاثات الرئيسية لزيادة التخفيف، والعمل على المستوى الوطني والإقليمي يحفز التعاون على المستوى العالمي.   

هدف

وفي ظل هذه الخلفية، دفع مؤتمر المناخ والهواء النظيف 2024 الحوار إلى الأمام، مع التركيز على تكلفة التقاعس عن العمل، وتسليط الضوء على سبل زيادة توسيع نطاق تنفيذ مبادرة المناخ والهواء النظيف. Global Methane Pledge، الهواء النظيف الرائد وتعديل كيغالي، ورسم المسار بشكل جماعي حتى عام 2025 وما بعده.

تميز مؤتمر المناخ والهواء النظيف 2024 بما يلي:

  • جلسات عامة رفيعة المستوى بشأن الجهود العالمية والإقليمية والوطنية للحد من غاز الميثان والكربون الأسود ومركبات الكربون الهيدروفلورية، بما في ذلك فوائد العمل السريع، والسياسات والتخطيط الوطني، وتمويل التنفيذ.
  • جلسات حوار سياسات العلوم حول أحدث العلوم الناشئة وكيف يمكن للمعلومات الجديدة أن تساعد في تطوير السياسات.
  • الجلسات الفنية بين CCAC سيقوم أعضاء محور القطاع بعرض أفضل الممارسات في قطاعات الانبعاثات الرئيسية: الزراعة، والتبريد، والوقود الأحفوري، والمركبات والمحركات الثقيلة، والطاقة المنزلية، والنفايات.
  • جلسات عملية لزيادة تحسين خطط العمل فيما بين CCAC المستشارون الوطنيون؛ الشركاء من غير الدول وأعضاء الفريق الاستشاري العلمي.

    اجتمع مؤتمر المناخ والهواء النظيف 2024 CCAC ممثلو الشركاء من الحكومات والمنظمات الحكومية الدولية والمنظمات غير الحكومية والقطاع الخاص والمؤسسات المالية وأصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين من المنطقة الأفريقية. 

خبر صحفى

تهدف المبادرات الجديدة والمتكاملة إلى بث الحياة في الجهود المبذولة لمعالجة المناخ والهواء النظيف

البيانات/الملاحظات

من الشركاء في المؤتمر

وثائق الخلفية

مؤتمر المناخ والهواء النظيف 2024 في الأخبار

انطلاق مؤتمر المناخ والهواء النظيف 2024 في برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة 

بواسطة هيئة الإذاعة الكينية – 21 فبراير

مقالة تحدد النغمة من هيئة الإذاعة العامة في كينيا، تسلط الضوء على طبيعة انعقاد الاجتماع ومبادرة الهواء النظيف، وكيف سيتمكن المندوبون من تحريك الحوار بشكل أكبر بشأن تكلفة التقاعس عن العمل، وتوسيع نطاق تنفيذ مبادرة الهواء النظيف. Global Methane Pledge وتعديل كيجالي، ورسم المسار حتى عام 2025 وما بعده.  

كينيا: تلوث الهواء في قلب مؤتمر في نيروبي 

راديو فرنسا الدولي – 20 فبراير

مقالة تمهيدية من هيئة الإذاعة العامة الفرنسية، مع نظرة متعمقة على كيف يمكن أن تساعد معالجة ملوثات المناخ قصيرة العمر في تحقيق خفض الانبعاثات بنسبة 70٪ بحلول عام 2030، والإشارة إلى تكلفة التقاعس عن العمل عندما يتعلق الأمر بمعالجة تلوث الهواء. يستخدم جودة الهواء في ميلانو والتركيز المحلي لمعالجة التلوث كمثال.  

دعوة للتضامن الدولي من أجل التخلص التدريجي من ملوثات المناخ قصيرة العمر، كما يقول مسؤولون في برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة 

بواسطة قناة الطقس، 22 فبراير

مقالة صحفية التقطتها قناة Weather، تسلط الضوء على دعوة المديرة التنفيذية لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة إنغر أندرسن للتخلص التدريجي من الملوثات الفائقة، وتعليقاتها على أهمية Global Methane Pledge، الهواء النظيف الرائد، وتعديل كيغالي. يتضمن اقتباسات من روز مويبازا، المدير الإقليمي لأفريقيا في برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة، ودعواتها لإعادة تشكيل القطاعات المسؤولة عن انبعاث الملوثات الفائقة.  

تهدف المبادرات الجديدة والمتكاملة إلى بث الحياة في خطط معالجة المناخ والهواء النظيف 

بواسطة البورصة، كينيا – 23 فبراير

مقالة مدفوعة بالنتائج من منفذ أعمال لعموم أفريقيا، مع التركيز على كيفية CCAC هو مكافحة الأزمة الكوكبية الثلاثية لتغير المناخ، وتسليط الضوء على مبادرة الهواء النظيف الرائدة، وخريطة طريق HDV، وإطلاق دراسة تكلفة التقاعس عن العمل لدعم الحالة الاقتصادية للعمل على ملوثات المناخ قصيرة العمر.  

برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة يحذر من تلوث الشاحنات الثقيلة 

بقلم بيبول ديلي، كينيا – 23 فبراير

مقال من إحدى الصحف الكينية الكبرى يوضح تأثير المركبات الثقيلة على الانبعاثات، مع التركيز بشكل خاص على الحاجة إلى تعزيز الإطار التنظيمي الأفريقي لمركبات HDV، مع اقتباسات من Rob de Jong حول توصيات لوقف تصدير المزيد من مركبات HDV المستعملة و ودعوته إلى وضع لوائح طموحة يمكنها الحد من الآثار البيئية والصحية.  

هناك مبادرات جديدة وشاملة جارية لتنشيط الجهود الرامية إلى معالجة تغير المناخ وتحسين جودة الهواء 

بواسطة MyJoy Online، غانا – 25 فبراير

مقال من أحد المنشورات الرائدة على الإنترنت في غانا يركز على كيفية تصميم الاجتماع لتعزيز التعاون الإقليمي، وزيادة التمويل لمعالجة ملوثات المناخ قصيرة الأجل، وتغطية الوجبات السريعة من تقرير HDV الذي تم إطلاقه في نيروبي. يتضمن اقتباسات من المديرة التنفيذية لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة، إنغر أندرسن، ودعوتها البلدان إلى تضمين خطط لمعالجة الملوثات الفائقة في المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا.  

شاهد تسجيلات مؤتمر المناخ والهواء النظيف 2024 على تلفزيون الأمم المتحدة على شبكة الإنترنت

حفل الافتتاح وجلسة نقاش عامة - 21 فبراير 2024 - 9:30 - 10:45 بتوقيت نيروبي
الجلسة العامة: الاستفادة من التمويل لتوسيع نطاق التنفيذ - 22 فبراير 2024 - 9:00 - 10:45 بتوقيت نيروبي
الجلسة العامة: التطلع إلى القطاعات - 23 فبراير 2024 - 9:30 - 10:45 بتوقيت نيروبي
الجلسة العامة الختامية: مؤتمر المناخ والهواء النظيف 2024 - 23 فبراير 2024 - 15:45 - 17:00 بتوقيت نيروبي

Climate and Clean Air Conference 2024

-
-
(Nairobi)
Conference Room 1, UNEP Headquarters, Nairobi
CCAC 2024 FINAL

The Climate and Clean Air Conference 2024 took place from 21 to 23 February 2024 in Nairobi, Kenya on the margins of the Sixth Session of the United Nations Environment Assembly.

Background

The Climate and Clean Air Conference 2024 brought together the CCAC's 86 State Partners and 83 Non-State Partners to discuss the latest science and policy, share best practices, and develop a shared agenda in key emitting sectors like agriculture, waste, fossil fuels, household energy, heavy-duty vehicles and engines, and cooling.

Over the next five years the world must make significant progress to slow the climate crisis, reduce air pollution, and address the poverty and inequality that threatens the most vulnerable. Humanity is pushing up against ecological limits, triggering multiple crises that threaten public health, food security, livelihoods, and the ecosystems that sustain us.

The CCAC works at the nexus of climate and air quality, to deliver multiple benefits from the fast mitigation of short-lived climate pollutants. Driven by policy relevant science and pragmatism, we work from the ground up, in an equitable and inclusive way, empowering our partners to achieve their respective national goals and catalysing action — as well as from the top down, bringing together ministers and leaders to drive high-level ambition.

The key outcomes from last year’s Climate and Clean Air Conference 2023 in Bangkok are clear: integrated planning on climate and clean air is essential to identify priority actions in key emitting sectors to scale up mitigation, and action at the national and regional level is motivating collaboration at the global scale.   

Objective

Against this backdrop, the Climate and Clean Air Conference 2024 moved the dialogue forward, focusing on the cost of inaction, highlighting ways to further scale up implementation of the Global Methane Pledge, Clean Air Flagship and Kigali Amendment, and collectively charting the course to 2025 and beyond.

The Climate and Clean Air Conference 2024 featured:

  • High-level plenary sessions on global, regional and national efforts to reduce methane, black carbon and HFCs, including the benefits of fast action, national policy and planning, and financing for implementation.
  • Science Policy Dialogue sessions on latest emerging science and how new information can inform policy development.
  • Technical sessions among CCAC Sector Hub members to showcase best practices in key emitting sectors: agriculture, cooling, fossil fuels, heavy-duty vehicles and engines, household energy, and waste.
  • Practical sessions to further refine workplans among CCAC National Consultants; Non-State Partners and Scientific Advisory Panel Members.

    The Climate and Clean Air Conference 2024 brought together CCAC Partner representatives from governments, intergovernmental organisations, non-governmental organisations, private sector, finance institutions and key stakeholders from the African region. 

Press Release

New, integrated initiatives aim to breathe life into efforts to address climate and clean air

Statements/Remarks

FROM Partners at the Conference

Background Documents

Climate and Clean Air Conference 2024 in the News

Climate and Clean Air Conference 2024 kicks off at UNEP 

by Kenya Broadcasting Corporation – February 21

Tone-setting article from Kenya’s public broadcaster, highlighting the convening nature of the meeting and the Clean Air Flagship, and how delegates will move the dialogue further on the cost of inaction, scale-up implementation of the Global Methane Pledge and Kigali amendment, and chart the course to 2025 and beyond.  

Kenya: Air pollution at the heart of a conference in Nairobi 

by Radio France International – February 20

Scene-setting article from France’s public radio broadcaster, with an in-depth look at how addressing short-lived climate pollutants can help achieve the 70% reduction of emissions by 2030, and referencing the cost of inaction when it comes to tackling air pollution. Uses Milan’s air quality and the local focus to address pollution as an example.  

International Solidarity Urged for Phasing Out Short-Lived Climate Pollutants, says UNEP Officials 

by The Weather Channel, February 22

Syndicated wire piece picked up by the Weather Channel, highlighting UNEP Executive Director Inger Andersen’s call to phase out super pollutants, and her comments on the importance of the Global Methane Pledge, the Clean Air Flagship, and the Kigali Amendment. Includes quotes from Rose Mwebaza, Regional Director for Africa at UNEP, and her calls for remodelling sectors responsible for emitting super pollutants.  

New, integrated initiatives aim to breathe life into plans to address climate and clean air 

by The Exchange, Kenya – February 23

Outcome driven article from a pan-African business outlet, with a focus on how the CCAC is combatting the triple planetary crisis of climate change, and highlighting the Clean Air Flagship, the HDV roadmap, and the launch of a cost of inaction study to support the economic case of acting on short-lived climate pollutants.  

UNEP warns over heavy trucks pollution 

by People Daily, Kenya - February 23

Article from a major Kenyan newspaper outlining the impact of Heavy-Duty Vehicles on emissions, with a particular focus on the need to enhance the African regulatory framework for HDVs, with quotes from Rob de Jong on recommendations to stop the further export of used HDVs and his call for ambitious regulations that can curb environmental and health impacts.  

Fresh, comprehensive initiatives underway to invigorate efforts aimed at tackling climate change, improving air quality 

by MyJoy Online, Ghana – February 25

Article from a leading online publication in Ghana focusing on how the meeting is designed to bolster regional collaboration, scale up financing to tackle short-lived climate pollutants, and covering takeaways from the HDV report launched in Nairobi. Includes quotes from UNEP Executive Director Inger Andersen, and her call on countries to include plans to address super pollutants in country NDCs.  

Watch the recordings of Climate and Clean Air Conference 2024 on UN Web TV

Opening Ceremony & Plenary-Panel Discussion - 21 February 2024 - 9:30 – 10:45 Nairobi Time
Plenary: Leveraging finance to scale up implementation - 22 February 2024 - 9:00 – 10:45 Nairobi Time
Plenary Session: Looking forward in the sectors - 23 February 2024 - 9:30 – 10:45 Nairobi Time
Closing Plenary: Climate and Clean Air Conference 2024 - 23 Feb 2024 - 15:45 – 17:00 Nairobi Time