نيجيريا - دعم نيجيريا لتخفيف غاز الميثان من قطاع النفط والغاز

المنطق 

انضمت نيجيريا إلى التحالف العالمي للميثان في عام 2019. وتلتزم البلدان التي تنضم إلى التحالف بأهداف التخفيض المطلق لغاز الميثان بنسبة 45% على الأقل بحلول عام 2025 وخفض بنسبة 60-75% بحلول عام 2030، على الرغم من أن هذا يعتمد على صناعة النفط والغاز لديها وإجمالي انبعاثات الميثان. . وفي عام 2018، بلغت انبعاثات الغازات الدفيئة من قطاع الطاقة 209 ملايين طن من مكافئ ثاني أكسيد الكربون. كانت الانبعاثات الهاربة من النفط والغاز أكبر مساهم في انبعاثات قطاع الطاقة في نيجيريا بنسبة 2٪. 

باعتبارها أكبر منتج للنفط والغاز في أفريقيا، اتخذت نيجيريا في عام 2023 إجراءات جريئة لتنظيم انبعاثات غاز الميثان في قطاع النفط والغاز. وبالنسبة لنيجيريا، فإن تحقيق الحد الأقصى من الطموح الذي تنص عليه لوائحها التنظيمية الجديدة من شأنه أن يقلل من انبعاثات غاز الميثان الناتج عن إحراق الغاز بنسبة 100% بحلول عام 2030، وغاز الميثان الهارب الناجم عن التسربات بنسبة 95% بحلول عام 2050. 


وسوف تشتمل هذه التخفيضات على عنصر رئيسي من أهداف المساهمة المحددة وطنيا لنيجيريا ــ والتي تتلخص في خفض غير مشروط بنسبة 20% وخفض مشروط بنسبة 47% إضافية بدعم دولي. ولتحقيق هذه الأهداف، CCAC تساعد في تحسين جمع البيانات من خلال دراسات علوم الميثان وكذلك بدء الدعم التنظيمي من نظير إلى نظير.

يستجيب هذا المشروع لطلب من وزارة البيئة النيجيرية ، ولجنة تنظيم البترول المنبع ، ووكالة تنظيم البترول في المصب ، لخدمات تطوير السياسات واللوائح لضمان استيعاب أحدث CCAC- إرشادات ممولة لتخفيف غاز الميثان من قطاع النفط والغاز. كما تسعى إلى تعزيز القدرة المؤسسية للقياس والإبلاغ والتحقق في قطاع النفط والغاز لدعم تنفيذ نفس الإرشادات.

اهدافنا

يهدف هذا المشروع إلى: 

  • مساعدة الحكومة في النظر في السياسات واللوائح الجديدة لضمان استيعابها CCAC- المبادئ التوجيهية الممولة. 
  • زيادة القدرة المؤسسية الحكومية على المراقبة والإبلاغ والتحقق في قطاع النفط والغاز. 
  • مساعدة الحكومة وهيئاتها التنظيمية على اتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة للتخفيف من غاز الميثان الناتج عن قطاع النفط والغاز من خلال اعتماد وتنفيذ المعايير التنظيمية في قطاعات المصب والوسطى والمنبع. 


 

أنشطة

لتحقيق هذه الأهداف سوف يقوم المشروع

  • عقد ورش عمل لتوعية أصحاب المصلحة بشأن المبادئ التوجيهية وكيفية تنفيذها.
  • تدريب جميع أصحاب المصلحة على استخدام COMAT، وإظهار تقنيات LDAR. 
  • تطوير وتوزيع وثيقة توجيهية تتضمن نهجًا لتطوير خط الأساس لغاز الميثان الهارب وتنفيذ برنامج للكشف عن التسرب وإصلاحه 
  • تطوير نهج منهجية وإطار للإبلاغ عن البيانات لإدارة الميثان. 
     

تحديثات المشروع

مصطلحات البحث
المناطق
الملوثات (SLCPs)

Nigeria - Support to Nigeria for methane mitigation from oil and gas sector

Rationale 

Nigeria joined the Global Methane Alliance in 2019. Countries who join the alliance commit to absolute methane reduction targets of at least 45% by 2025 and a 60-75% reduction by 2030, though this depends on their oil and gas industry and overall methane emissions. In 2018, greenhouse gas emissions from the energy sector were 209 million tonnes of CO2 equivalent. Fugitive emissions from the oil and gas were the largest contributor to Nigeria’s energy sector emissions at 33%. 

As Africa's largest oil and gas producer, in 2023 Nigeria took bold action to regulate methane emissions on the oil and gas sector. For Nigeria, achieving the maximum ambition of its new regulations would reduce methane emissions from flaring by 100% by 2030, and fugitive methane from leaks by 95% 2050. 


These reductions will comprise a major component of Nigeria’s Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC) targets - which are an unconditional reduction of 20% and conditional reduction of additional 47% with international support.  To achieve these goals, the CCAC is helping to improve data collection through methane science studies as well as initiating peer-to-peer regulatory support.

This project responds to the request by Nigeria’s Ministry of Environment, Upstream Petroleum Regulatory Commission and Midstream Downstream Petroleum Regulatory Agency for services to develop policies and regulations to ensure uptake of recent CCAC-funded Guidelines to mitigate methane from oil and gas sector. It also seeks to strengthen institutional capacity for MRV in oil and gas sector to support implementation of the same guidelines.

Objectives

This project aims to: 

  • Assist government consideration of new policies and regulations to ensure uptake of recent CCAC-funded guidelines. 
  • Increase government institutional capacity for monitoring, reporting, and verification in the oil and gas sector. 
  • Assist the government and its regulatory agencies to take action to mitigate methane from the oil and gas sector through the adoption and implementation of regulatory standard in the downstream, mid-stream and up-stream sectors. 


 

Activities

To achieve these objectives the project will

  • Hold workshops to sensitise stakeholders on the guidelines and how they should be implemented.
  • Train all stakeholders on the use of COMAT, and demonstrate LDAR techniques. 
  • Develop and distribute a guidance document with an approach to fugitive methane baseline development and Implementation of a leak detection and repair program 
  • Develop a methodology approach and framework for data reporting for methane management. 
     
Tags
Regions
Pollutants (SLCPs)
Themes