باكستان - تقديم خارطة طريق وطنية لمكافحة الميثان 

المنطق

تعد باكستان سابع أكبر دولة من حيث انبعاث غاز الميثان على مستوى العالم، وهي ثالث أكبر دولة من حيث انبعاث غاز الميثان التي وقعت على الاتفاقية. Global Methane Pledge. 

تحدث غالبية انبعاثات غاز الميثان في باكستان في قطاع الزراعة الذي يساهم بنسبة 22.7% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للبلاد، وبالتالي فإن هذا يمثل محورًا محددًا للتخطيط للتخفيف من غاز الميثان. وقد أدرجت باكستان بالفعل تخفيف غاز الميثان ضمن مساهمتها المحددة وطنيا. 

وباكستان أيضًا دولة فقيرة في البيانات، مما يحد من التخطيط والعمليات في قطاعات مثل النفايات - وهي مساهم رئيسي آخر في انبعاثات غاز الميثان التي لا يتم قياسها وبالتالي فهي غير منظمة. 

توجد ترتيبات وسياسات مؤسسية لإدارة النفايات، إلا أن القدرة على تحديد واعتماد التكنولوجيا المناسبة لتحقيق تقليل فعال للنفايات محدودة. تعطي المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا الباكستانية أيضًا الأولوية لاعتماد نموذج الاقتصاد الدائري، وبالتالي فإن تعزيز مخزون انبعاثات غاز الميثان ووضع خارطة طريق مستنيرة سيسهم في التغلب على القيود المفروضة على البيانات والقدرات. 

سيدعم هذا المشروع وزارة التغير المناخي الباكستانية في تطوير خارطة طريق لغاز الميثان على أساس سابق CCAC المشاريع والمساهمة في تحقيقها Global Methane Pledge. 

اهدافنا

يهدف هذا المشروع إلى: 

  • زيادة قدرة حكومة باكستان على تطوير المخزون الوطني لانبعاثات غازات الدفيئة.
  • مساعدة حكومة باكستان على تضمين SLCP تدابير التخفيف في خطة تنفيذ المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا وعملية تطوير المخزون.
  • وضع خارطة طريق لغاز الميثان يمكن أن تعتمدها حكومة باكستان.
النشاطات

ولتحقيق هذه الأهداف سيقوم المشروع بما يلي:

  • تطوير خارطة طريق لغاز الميثان تتضمن:
    • ورش عمل لبناء القدرات وأدوات الدعم لتدريب الأشخاص المعنيين في وزارة التغير المناخي على تطوير قائمة جرد وطنية لانبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري لقطاعات انبعاثات غاز الميثان التي ستدعم التقارير المستقبلية لباكستان بموجب اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ بشأن تنفيذ باكستان للمساهمة المحددة وطنياً (NDC). وهذا يشمل التدريب على منهجيات البيانات المصقولة.
    • تقييم التخفيف من غاز الميثان للتدابير ذات الأولوية الرئيسية ، بما في ذلك تقييم الترتيبات المؤسسية ، والسياسة والبيئة التنظيمية ، وتكلفة التنفيذ ، وإطار عمل للمراقبة والتقييم لتخفيف غاز الميثان كمساهمة في إعداد خطط تنفيذ المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا في باكستان. يمكن استخدام تحليل LEAP-IBC المستمر كمدخل.
    • مجموعة من أفكار المشاريع لتخفيف غاز الميثان في باكستان مع الأخذ في الاعتبار المدخلات الناتجة عن تقييم التخفيف.

مرجع المشروع: باكستان - تقديم خارطة طريق وطنية لمكافحة الميثان [PK-22-002]

مصطلحات البحث

Pakistan - Deliver a National Methane Action Roadmap 

Rationale

Pakistan is the 7th largest methane emitter globally and is the 3rd largest methane-emitting country to have signed the Global Methane Pledge. 

The majority of Pakistan's methane emission occur in the agriculture sector that contributes 22.7% to the country's GDP, and this is therefore a specific focus for methane mitigation planning. Pakistan has already included methane mitigation within its NDC. 

Pakistan is also a data poor country that limits planning and operations of sectors like waste – another major contributor to methane emission that goes unquantified and hence, unregulated. 

Institutional arrangement and policies for waste management exist however, the capacity to identify and adopt the appropriate technology to achieve effective waste minimisation is limited. Pakistan's NDC also prioritises the adoption of circular economy model, hence strengthening methane emission inventory and developing an informed roadmap will contribute to overcoming data and capacity limitations. 

This project will support Pakistan’s Ministry of Climate Change in developing a methane roadmap building on previous CCAC projects and contribute to achieving the Global Methane Pledge. 

Objectives

This project aims to: 

  • Increase the Government of Pakistan's capacity for national greenhouse gas emissions inventory development.
  • Assist the Government of Pakistan to include SLCP mitigation measures in its NDC implementation plan and inventory development process.
  • Develop a methane roadmap that can be endorsed by the Government of Pakistan.
Activities

To achieve these objectives the project will:

  • Develop a methane roadmap including:
    • Capacity building workshops and support tools to train relevant people in the Ministry of Climate Change on the development of a national greenhouse gas emissions inventory for methane emitting sectors that will support Pakistan’s future reporting under the UNFCCC on Pakistan’s Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC) implementation. This includes training on refined data methodologies.
    • A methane mitigation assessment for key priority measures, including an assessment of the institutional arrangements, the policy and regulatory environment, the cost of implementation, and a monitoring and evaluation framework for methane mitigation as a contribution to the preparation of Pakistan’s NDC implementation plans. An ongoing LEAP-IBC analysis could be used as input.
    • A portfolio of project ideas for methane mitigation in Pakistan considering the inputs generated by the mitigation assessment.

Project reference: Pakistan - Deliver a National Methane Action Roadmap [PK-22-002]

Tags
Pollutants (SLCPs)