تعزيز قدرات إدارة جودة الهواء والصحة في أمريكا الوسطى وجمهورية الدومينيكان

-
-
ميدلين
كولومبيا

ضمن أنشطة المشروع "أمريكا الوسطى - تحقيق أهداف جودة الهواء والمناخ والصحة"، سيدعم بناء القدرات تنفيذ التحسينات في مراقبة جودة الهواء، فضلاً عن تطوير تشريع نموذجي بشأن جودة الهواء والصحة يمكن اعتماده من قبل الدول الأعضاء في نظام التكامل لأمريكا الوسطى (SICA).

برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة (UNEP)، ومنظمة الصحة للبلدان الأمريكية (PAHO)، ومنظمة الصحة العالمية Climate and Clean Air Coalition (CCAC)، بالتعاون مع الأمانة التنفيذية للكوميسكا والأمانة التنفيذية لـ CCAD، ينظم معهد الهواء النظيف والمنطقة الحضرية لوادي أبورا (AMVA)، ورشة عمل لبناء القدرات لمدة يومين ونصف، والتي تم عقدها من 12 إلى 14 مارس 2024 في مدينة ميديلين في كولومبيا. 

ومن المتوقع أن تفيد نتائج ورشة العمل هذه الاجتماعات القادمة لمجالس وزراء البيئة والصحة في نظام SICA. يسعى هذا النشاط إلى تسهيل تبادل المعلومات وبناء القدرات وتعزيز الدعم السياسي لرصد جودة الهواء والتطوير التنظيمي في بلدان نظام SICA. 

علاوة على ذلك، من المتوقع أيضًا عرض نتائج تقدير الفوائد الصحية لدعم تحديث اللوائح الوطنية والتقدم المحرز في تنفيذ خارطة الطريق للبرنامج المتكامل بشأن جودة الهواء وتغير المناخ والصحة في المنطقة.

أعطت AMVA الأولوية لتطوير السياسات والبرامج القصيرة والمتوسطة والطويلة الأجل، وتصميم الأدوات الرئيسية لإدارة جودة الهواء مثل: 

أ) قياس حالة جودة الهواء والإبلاغ عنها والتحقق منها 

ب) تنظيم أكثر صرامة من المستوى الوطني فيما يتعلق بالانبعاثات الناجمة عن المصادر الملوثة، وتكنولوجيات المركبات، وجودة الوقود، ومعايير جودة الهواء. 

من بين بعض الجوانب الأخرى التي يجب تسليط الضوء عليها، تمتلك AMVA نظامًا قويًا لمراقبة الصحة البيئية، وتشمل المراقبة 22 محطة مرجعية تسمح لها بالإبلاغ عن جودة الهواء بشكل مستمر، وخطة متكاملة لإدارة جودة الهواء (PIGECA) مع رؤية لمختلف الجهات الفاعلة. (المجتمع المدني، الجامعات، القطاع العام). 

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، لدى AMVA استراتيجية للبحث عن الموارد من خلال الشراكات مع الكيانات الدولية. كل هذه الجهود تجعل من ميديلين وبلديات وادي أبورا مدينة رائدة في المنطقة في هذا المجال، وبالتالي تشكل فرصة كبيرة للاستفادة من معرفتها وخبرتها والدروس المستفادة لصالح دول سيكا.

المشاركون:
 

  • جهات الاتصال من وزارتي البيئة والصحة المعينة لمتابعة المشروع في بلدان أمريكا الوسطى والجمهورية الدومينيكية
  • سيكا: CCAD وSE-COMISCA
  • سلطات البيئة والصحة في AMVA وميديلين
  • PAHO: مستشارون في جودة الهواء والصحة والتنظيم
  • برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة: المنسق الإقليمي وأخصائي التنظيم البيئي
  • CCAC خبير إقليمي في جودة الهواء
  • متخصصون في معهد الهواء النظيف

Fortalecimiento De Las Capacidades de Gestión de la Calidad del Aire y Salud en Centroamérica y República Dominicana

-
-
Medellin
Colombia

As part of the activities of the project "Central America - Achieving air quality, climate, and health goals", capacity building will support the implementation of improvements in air quality monitoring, as well as the development of a model legislation on air quality and health that can be adopted by the member states of the Central American Integration System (SICA).

The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), the Pan-American Health Organization (PAHO), the Climate and Clean Air Coalition (CCAC), together with the Executive Secretariat of COMISCA and the Executive Secretariat of CCAD, the Clean Air Institute and the Metropolitan Area of the Aburrá Valley (AMVA), are organising a two and a half day capacity building workshop, that has been held from 12 to 14 march, 2024 at Medellin city in Colombia. 

Outcomes of this workshop are expected to inform next meetings of the SICA Councils of Ministers of Environment and Health. This activity seeks to facilitate the exchange of information, capacity building and promote political support for air quality monitoring and regulatory development in SICA countries. 

Moreover, it is expected to also present the results of the estimation of health benefits to support the updating of national regulations and the progress in the implementation of the Roadmap of the Integrated Program on Air Quality, Climate Change and Health in the region.

The AMVA has prioritised the development of short, medium and long-term policies and programs, and the design of key tools for air quality management such as: 

a) measuring, reporting and verifying the state of air quality, and 

b) stricter regulation than at the national level in terms of emissions from polluting sources, vehicle technologies and fuel quality and air quality standards. 

Among some other aspects to highlight, the AMVA has a robust environmental health surveillance system, monitoring includes 22 reference stations that allow them to communicate air quality on a continuous basis, and an Integrated Air Quality Management Plan (PIGECA) with a vision of different actors (civil society, universities, public sector). 

In addition, the AMVA has a strategy for seeking resources through partnerships with international entities. All these efforts, make Medellin and the municipalities of the Aburrá Valley a leading city in the region in this area and, therefore, constitutes a great opportunity to take advantage of its knowledge, experience and lessons learned for the benefit of the SICA countries.

Participants:
 

  • Focal points from the Ministries of Environment and Health designated to follow up on the project in the Central American countries and the Dominican Republic
  • SICA: CCAD and SE-COMISCA
  • Environment and health authorities of AMVA and Medellin
  • PAHO: Advisors in air quality and health and regulation
  • UNEP: Regional Coordinator and Environmental Regulation Specialist
  • CCAC Regional Air Quality Expert
  • Clean Air Insitute specialists