برنامج عمل خارطة طريق الميثان (M-RAP) - ورشة عمل خارطة الطريق الوطنية

-
-
(باريس)
المقر الرئيسي للمنظمة العالمية للأرصاد الجوية (WMO).
جنيف
سويسرا
خريطة الطريق

تهدف ورشة عمل M-RAP الشخصية هذه إلى تقديم منهجية برنامج عمل خارطة طريق الميثان (M-RAP) إلى الجديد GMP المشاركون والبلدان يبدأون عملية تطوير خطة العمل الوطنية الخاصة بالميثان. وسوف يناقش أيضًا كيف يمكن لهذه العملية أن تدعم إدراج غاز الميثان في البلدان بحلول عام 2035 للمساهمات المحددة وطنيًا (NDCs) وتقارير الشفافية القادمة كل سنتين (BTRs).

 

الميثان هو غاز الدفيئة المرتبط بالأنشطة البشرية والذي يشكل ثاني أكبر مساهمة في تغير المناخ العالمي بعد ثاني أكسيد الكربون. ال Global Methane Pledge (GMP) يهدف إلى خفض انبعاثات غاز الميثان بنسبة 30% على الأقل بحلول عام 2030 مقارنة بمستويات عام 2020. والمفتاح لتحقيق هذا الهدف هو وضع خرائط طريق قوية وملموسة تحدد الإجراءات التي ستتخذها البلدان للحد من غاز الميثان في قطاعات الطاقة والزراعة والنفايات وكيف يمكنها قياس تأثير هذه الإجراءات. 


• CCACالصورة برنامج عمل خارطة طريق الميثان (M-RAP) يوفر للبلدان الدعم لتطوير خرائط الطريق/خطط العمل الوطنية اللازمة لغاز الميثان لتحديد الإجراءات التي سيتم اتخاذها بشأن غاز الميثان. كجزء من M-RAP، تم تطوير مجموعة من العناصر الأساسية التي تصف العناصر الأساسية لاستراتيجية متماسكة لخفض غاز الميثان.


في عام 2024، تقوم الأطراف في اتفاق باريس بإعداد تقارير الشفافية الأولى لفترة السنتين (BTR1) وتقرير الجرد الوطني (إذا تم تقديمه كتقارير مستقلة)، وفقًا لإطار الشفافية المعزز لاتفاق باريس (ETF). في ورشة العمل هذه، ستتلقى البلدان دعمًا عمليًا فيما يتعلق بخرائط طريق الميثان الخاصة بها وستتعرف على إرشادات وموارد محددة لمساعدة البلدان على الامتثال لإطار الشفافية المعزز لاتفاقيات باريس. وستتمكن البلدان من الوصول إلى الأدوات الناشئة لتحديد كمية تخفيضات الانبعاثات باستخدام عمليات رصد الغلاف الجوي. وقد تم تطوير هذه الأدوات والممارسات من قبل المنظمة العالمية للأرصاد الجوية وشركائها وتم تضمينها في تنقيح عام 2019 للتقارير الوطنية عن الانبعاثات الصادرة عن الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ. 


ومن خلال مساعدة الخبراء والتبادلات بين الأقران، ستتعرف البلدان على الكيفية التي يمكن بها لعملية M-RAP والأدوات العلمية الناشئة أن تسهل وتعزز تقارير الشفافية التي تصدرها البلدان كل سنتين عن اتفاق باريس وعملية تعزيز المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا.

اقرأ البيان الصحفي من الحدث هنا.

 

مصطلحات البحث

موارد الحدث

Methane Roadmap Action Programme (M-RAP) - National Roadmap Workshop

-
-
(Paris)
WMO Headquarters
Geneva
Switzerland
Roadmap

This M-RAP in-person workshop aims at introducing the Methane Roadmap Action Programme (M-RAP) methodology to new GMP participants and countries starting on their national methane action plan development process. It will also discuss how such process can support the inclusion of methane in countries 2035 Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs) and upcoming Biennial Transparency Reports (BTRs).

 

Methane is the greenhouse gas related to human activities that makes the second largest contribution to global climate change after carbon dioxide. The Global Methane Pledge (GMP) aims to reduce methane emissions by at least 30% by 2030 compared to 2020 levels. Key to the achievement of this goal is establishing robust, and concrete roadmaps outlining what actions countries will take to reduce methane within the energy, agriculture, and waste sectors and how they would quantify the impact of these actions. 


The CCAC’s Methane Roadmap Action Programme (M-RAP) provides countries with support to develop the necessary national methane roadmaps/action plans to outline what action will be taken on methane. As part of M-RAP, a set of building blocks have been developed which describes the key elements of a coherent methane reduction strategy.


In 2024, Parties to the Paris Agreement are preparing their first Biennial Transparency Reports (BTR1) and national inventory report (if submitted as stand-alone reports), in accordance with the Paris Agreement Enhanced Transparency Framework (ETF). In this workshop, countries will receive hands-on support with their methane roadmaps and learn about specific guidance and resources to help countries comply with the Enhanced Transparency Framework of the Paris Agreements. Countries will gain access to the emerging tools to quantify emission reductions utilising atmospheric observations. These tools and practices have been developed by the World Meteorological Organisation and its partners and are included in the 2019 refinement of the IPCC National Emission Reporting. 


Through expert assistance and peer-to-peer exchanges countries will learn about how the M-RAP process and emerging scientific tools can facilitate and enhance countries’ Paris Agreement Biennial Transparency Reports and NDC enhancement process.

Read the press release from the event here.

 

Tags

Event resources