ليبيريا

CCAC شريك منذ ذلك الحين
2014

انضمت ليبيريا إلى CCAC في عام 2014 لتكثيف طموحها لمكافحة الملوثات المناخية قصيرة العمر (SLCPق) ، وخاصة في قطاعات النفايات والطاقة المنزلية والتبريد.  

تواجه البلاد آثارًا أكبر من أي وقت مضى لتغير المناخ ، بما في ذلك ارتفاع درجات الحرارة وتغير أنماط هطول الأمطار والفيضانات الشديدة خلال موسم الأمطار. علاوة على ذلك ، تتجاوز مستويات تلوث الهواء المحلي إرشادات منظمة الصحة العالمية وتهدد حياة ما يقرب من خمسة ملايين شخص. هذا هو الحال بشكل خاص في المراكز الحضرية ولجزء كبير من السكان الذين يستخدمون وقود الكتلة الحيوية الصلبة للطهي.  

بدعم من CCAC، ليبيريا تتطلع إلى عكس هذه الاتجاهات من خلال إجراءات لمعالجة الاتجاه الرئيسي في البلاد SLCP مصادر الانبعاث في الدولة ، والطاقة المنزلية ، والنقل ، والنفايات. أكملت وكالة حماية البيئة جردًا متكاملًا لانبعاثات تلوث الهواء وتغير المناخ. كما تلقى الممثلون الحكوميون الرئيسيون دعمًا لبناء القدرات من أجل صنع السياسات ووضع استراتيجيات للحد SLCP الانبعاثات. بالإضافة إلى تحسين جودة الهواء والمساهمة في أهداف تغير المناخ في البلاد ، هذه SLCP ستدعم جهود التخفيف أهداف التنمية الوطنية ، مثل الأهداف المحددة في ليبيريا أجندة لصالح الفقراء من أجل الازدهار والتنمية لعام 2018

في تقريرها المنقحة المساهمة المحددة وطنيا، وضعت ليبيريا هدفًا لتقليل انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري على مستوى الاقتصاد بنسبة 64٪ أقل من سيناريو العمل المعتاد بحلول عام 2030 ، مقسمة إلى تخفيضات غير مشروطة بنسبة 10٪ و 54٪ من التخفيضات الإضافية المشروطة بالدعم الدولي. تم تحديد لجنة توجيهية وطنية معنية بتغير المناخ للتنسيق والإشراف على تنفيذ سياسة تغير المناخ والأنشطة ذات الصلة. تحدد المساهمة المحددة وطنيا (NDC) تسعة قطاعات رئيسية للتخفيف ، وهي: الزراعة ، والغابات ، والمناطق الساحلية ، ومصايد الأسماك ، والصحة ، والنقل ، والصناعة ، والطاقة والنفايات ، بالإضافة إلى هدف شامل للممرات الخضراء الحضرية.   

ليبيريا السياسة الوطنية واستراتيجية الاستجابة لتغير المناخ لعام 2018 يضع استراتيجية وطنية للتخفيف من آثار تغير المناخ والتكيف معه ، بما في ذلك الآثار القطاعية ، والقضايا الشاملة ، وتقييم قابلية التأثر بتغير المناخ.  

في القطاع الزراعي ، فإن سياسة واستراتيجية الأغذية والزراعة 2014-2019، يهدف إلى نقل الإنتاج الزراعي من الكفاف إلى الاكتفاء لتلبية الطلب الوطني من الأغذية الأساسية والثروة الحيوانية. للتأكد من أن زيادة الإنتاج لا تؤدي إلى زيادة الانبعاثات ، تهدف العديد من السياسات إلى تعزيز الطاقة المتجددة. الأمر التنفيذي بشأن استمرار ليبيريا الريفية و سياسة الطاقة الوطنية (2009) تهدف إلى تعزيز التنمية الاقتصادية في المناطق الريفية من خلال إنشاء المناطق الريفية و وكالة الطاقة المتجددة وصندوق الطاقة الريفية. وتخصص موارد الأموال للتطوير التجاري وتزويد المناطق الريفية بخدمات الطاقة الحديثة. يركز على مصادر الطاقة المتجددة المتوفرة محليًا ويلتزم باستخدام الكتلة الحيوية ومصادر الطاقة الأخرى فقط التي لا تساهم في إزالة الغابات أو انعدام الأمن الغذائي.    

تعرف على المزيد حول سياسات تغير المناخ في ليبيريا:  

  • قانون إنشاء وكالة حماية البيئة في جمهورية ليبيريا (2002): إنشاء وكالة حماية البيئة ، والمجلس الوطني لسياسة البيئة ، ومحكمة الاستئناف البيئية ، والمحكمة الإدارية البيئية ، وصندوق حماية البيئة. وهي تحدد عمليات التفتيش البيئي والأمور الأخرى المتعلقة بالبيئة ، وتضع إجراءات تقييم الأثر ومراقبته ، فضلاً عن أوامر الإنفاذ البيئي.   

  • قانون حماية البيئة وإدارتها لجمهورية ليبيريا (2002): الإطار القانوني للتطوير المستدام وإدارة البيئة وحمايتها ، وتقديم معلومات عالية الجودة وإرشادات حول حالة البيئة والمسائل ذات الصلة.   

  • السياسة الوطنية لإدارة الكوارث (2012): إطار عمل للحد من مخاطر الكوارث وبناء قدرة المجتمع على الصمود في سياق التنمية المستدامة. ويسعى إلى إنشاء أساس لتطوير إطار قانوني ومؤسسي فعال وعملي وحوكمة جيدة لإدارة مخاطر الكوارث.  

  • سياسة واستراتيجية الأغذية والزراعة (2008): يهدف إلى زيادة إنتاجية ودخل مزارعي الكفاف في ليبيريا ، ويهدف أيضًا إلى إبطاء إزالة الغابات ، وتطوير آليات التكيف ، وتوفير المعلومات للمزارعين بشأن تغير المناخ. 

العنوان:

وكالة حماية البيئة ، صندوق بريد 4024 ، 4th Street Sinkor ، Tubman Boulevard
مونروفيا 1000، ليبيريا

موارد ذات الصلة

لا توجد نتائج بعد.

Liberia

CCAC Partner since
2014

Liberia joined the CCAC in 2014 to step up its ambition to combat short-lived climate pollutants (SLCPs), especially in the waste, household energy and cooling sectors.  

The country faces ever greater impacts of climate change, including rising temperatures, changing rainfall patterns, and extreme flooding during the rainy season. Furthermore, local air pollution levels exceed World Health Organization (WHO) guidelines and threaten the lives of a population of almost five million people. This is particularly the case in urban centres and for the large portion of the population that uses solid biomass fuels for cooking.  

With support from the CCAC, Liberia is looking to reverse these trends with actions to address the country’s main SLCP emission sources of the country, household energy, transport, and waste. The Environmental Protection Agency has completed an integrated air pollution and climate change emission inventory. Key government representatives have also received capacity building support for policymaking and the development of strategies to reduce SLCP emissions. In addition to improving air quality and contributing to the country’s climate change objectives, these SLCP mitigation efforts will support national development objectives, such as the aims identified in Liberia’s Pro-poor agenda for prosperity and development of 2018

In its revised nationally determined contribution, Liberia set a target to reduce economy-wide greenhouse gas emissions by 64% below the business-as-usual scenario by 2030, divided into unconditional reductions of 10% and 54% of additional reductions conditional upon international support. A National Climate Change Steering Committee has been identified to coordinate and supervise the implementation of climate change policy and related activities.  The NDC identifies nine key mitigation sectors, namely: agriculture, forests, costal zones, fisheries, health, transport, industry, energy and waste, as well as a cross-cutting target for urban green corridors.   

Liberia’s National Policy and Response Strategy on Climate Change of 2018 lays out a national climate change mitigation and adaptation strategy, including sectoral implications, cross-cutting issues, and an assessment of climate change vulnerability.  

In the agricultural sector, the Food and Agricultural Policy and Strategy 2014 – 2019, aims to move agricultural production from subsistence to sufficiency to meet national demand of staple foods and livestock. To ensure that the increasing production does not increase emissions, several policies aim to promote renewable energy. Executive Order on the Continuation of the Liberia Rural and the National Energy Policy (2009) therefore aim to foster economic development in rural areas by establishing the Rural and Renewable Energy Agency and Rural Energy Fund. The means of the funds are dedicated to commercial development and supply of modern energy services to rural areas. It focusses on renewable energy sources that are locally available and commits to using only biomass and other energy sources that do not contribute to deforestation or food insecurity.    

Find out more about Liberia’s climate change policies:  

  • Act creating the Environment Protection Agency of the Republic of Liberia (2002): establishes the Environment Protection Agency, the National Environment Policy Council, the Environmental Court of Appeals, the Environmental Administrative Court, the Environment Protection Fund. It designates environmental inspections and other matters relative to the environment, and lays out the conduct of impact assessment and monitoring, as well as environmental enforcement orders.   

  • Environmental Protection and Management Law of the Republic of Liberia (2002): legal framework for developing sustainably, managing and protection the environment, providing high quality information and advice on the state of the environment and for related matters.   

  • National Disaster Management Policy (2012): framework for reducing disaster risks and building community resilience in the context of sustainable development. It seeks to create a foundation for the development of effective and functional legal, institutional framework and good governance for disaster risk management.  

  • Food and Agriculture Policy and Strategy (2008): sets out to increase productivity and income of Liberia’s subsistence farmers, also aims to slow deforestation, develop adaptation mechanisms, and provide information to farmers on climate change. 

Address

Environmental Protection Agency, PO Box 4024, 4th Street Sinkor, Tubman Boulevard
Monrovia 1000,Liberia

Related resources

No results yet.