ليبيريا - تقديم خارطة طريق وطنية لغاز الميثان

المنطق



منذ عام 1995، ارتفعت انبعاثات غاز الميثان في ليبيريا من 170 كيلو طن من مكافئ ثاني أكسيد الكربون إلى 2 كيلو طن من مكافئ ثاني أكسيد الكربون. إذا لم يتم تنفيذ تدابير التخفيف لإبقاء الانبعاثات تحت السيطرة عند المصدر وزيادة استخلاص غاز الميثان، فقد تزداد انبعاثات غاز الميثان في ليبيريا مع تكثيف الزراعة والتعدين وزيادة النفايات الصلبة البلدية وإنتاج مياه الصرف الصحي.

التزمت ليبيريا بخفض انبعاثات الغازات الدفيئة بنسبة 64% من خلال استهداف ملوثات المناخ عالية التأثير وقصيرة العمر (SLCPق) مثل الميثان. وتحدد مساهمة ليبيريا المحددة وطنيا أهدافها "لتقليل انبعاثات الغازات الدفيئة في قطاعات الثروة الحيوانية والزراعة التي تحتوي على غاز الميثان بنسبة 40٪ وفي قطاع النفايات بنسبة 7.6٪ بحلول عام 2030". ويتطلب هذا الطموح خارطة طريق لتحقيقه. 

استجابة لطلب وكالة حماية البيئة في ليبيريا Climate and Clean Air Coalition (CCAC) سيدعم تقديم الخدمات لتطوير خارطة طريق وطنية لغاز الميثان والتي تسترشد بها عملية تنفيذ المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا في ليبيريا.

اهدافنا

يهدف هذا المشروع إلى:

  • وضع خارطة طريق لغاز الميثان يمكن أن تعتمدها حكومة ليبيريا. 
أنشطة

ولتحقيق هذا الهدف سيقوم المشروع بما يلي:

  • وضع مسودة خارطة طريق لغاز الميثان بناءً على تحليل السياسات والبرامج والمشاريع والاستراتيجيات الحالية المتعلقة بغاز الميثان، فضلاً عن السياق الاقتصادي والاجتماعي والسياسي في ليبيريا. 
  • تحديد أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين والتشاور معهم في سياق المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا في خارطة طريق الميثان 
  • إنشاء مجموعات عمل قطاعية فرعية لغاز الميثان (النفايات، والزراعة، والصحة، والطاقة، والنفط والغاز، والشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة، وما إلى ذلك) ومراجعة انبعاثات غاز الميثان حسب المصادر وإزالتها عن طريق الاحتجاز والاستخدام.
  •  إرسال مسودة خارطة طريق الميثان  
    وضع اللمسات النهائية على خارطة طريق الميثان، بما في ذلك تدابير التخفيف من غاز الميثان والمبادئ التوجيهية لتعزيز القدرة على تنفيذ خارطة طريق الميثان، بالإضافة إلى أنظمة مراقبة وتقييم محددة لتنفيذ خارطة طريق الميثان.

مرجع المشروع: ليبيريا - تسليم خارطة طريق الميثان [LR-22-001]

مصطلحات البحث
المناطق
الملوثات (SLCPs)

Liberia - Deliver National Methane Roadmap

Rationale



Since 1995 methane emissions in Liberia have risen from 170 ktCO2e to 370 ktCO2e. If mitigation measures are not implemented to keep emissions in check at source and increase methane recovery, Liberia's methane emissions could increase further as agriculture and mining intensifies and, municipal solid wastes (MSW) and wastewater production increase.

Liberia has committed  to cutting greenhouse gas emissions by 64% by targeting high-impact short-lived climate pollutants (SLCPs) like methane. Liberia’s Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC) outlines its goals "to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in the methane-heavy livestock and agricultural sectors by 40% and in the waste sector by 7.6% by 2030". This ambition requires a roadmap to be achieved. 

In response to a request by the Environmental Protection Agency of Liberia the Climate and Clean Air Coalition (CCAC) will support the delivery of services to develop a national methane roadmap that informs the implementation of Liberia's NDC.

Objectives

This project aims to:

  • Develop a methane roadmap that can be endorsed by the Government of Liberia. 
Activities

To achieve this objective the project will:

  • Develop a  draft methane roadmap  based on analysis of existing policies, programs, projects, and strategies on methane, as well as Liberia's economic, social, and political context 
  • Identify and consult relevant stakeholders in the context of the NDC in Methane Roadmap 
  • Establish methane sub-sector working groups (waste, agriculture, health, energy, oil and gas, SMES, etc.) and review methane emissions by sources and removal by capture and use.
  •  Submit draft methane roadmap  
    Finalise the methane roadmap, including mitigation measures for methane and guidelines for strengthening capacity for implementing methane roadmap, as well as defined monitoring and evaluation systems for implementation of methane roadmap.

Project reference: Liberia - Deliver Methane Roadmap [LR-22-001]

Tags
Regions
Pollutants (SLCPs)