النفط والغاز في مرحلة انتقالية: توضيح مسؤولية المنتجين وأدوار شركات النفط الوطنية وشركات النفط العالمية

-
(دبي)
منصة المستقبل الخالية من الكربون في المنطقة الزرقاء
دبي
الإمارات العربية المتحدة

ستركز هذه الجلسة على دور منتجي النفط والغاز، بما في ذلك شركات النفط الوطنية وشركات النفط العالمية، على الطريق نحو صافي الانبعاثات الصفرية. 

تستمر الأزمات الاقتصادية والجيوسياسية في تحدي الافتراضات المتعلقة بدور منتجي الوقود الأحفوري ومستقبل نظام الطاقة، حيث تبحث حتى البلدان الأكثر التزامًا بالعمل المناخي عن مصادر جديدة وربما تحافظ على استهلاك الوقود الأحفوري لعقود من الزمن. ومن الواضح أن أي تحول في مجال الطاقة سوف يتطلب المشاركة ــ وبعض القيادة ــ من كبار منتجي النفط والغاز.

ومن ناحية أخرى، تنتج شركات النفط الوطنية، وليس المنتجين من القطاع الخاص، أغلبية النفط والغاز في العالم، وتمتلك حصة أكبر كثيراً من احتياطيات العالم من النفط والغاز. ومع ذلك، تستمر سياسة المناخ في التركيز في المقام الأول على المنتجين الرئيسيين في القطاع الخاص واستهدافهم، والذين يواجهون مجموعة مختلفة تمامًا من الموارد والمسؤوليات.

سوف يستكشف هذا الحدث كيف تبدو المساءلة بالنسبة للقطاع وكيف يمكن إعادة تنظيم العمل المناخي لدعم وقيادة التحول ليس فقط شركات النفط الكبرى في الغرب، ولكن أيضًا شركات النفط الوطنية والمنتجين في الجنوب العالمي.

مصطلحات البحث
الملوثات (SLCPs)

Oil and Gas in Transition: Clarifying producer responsibility and the roles of NOCs and IOCs

-
(Dubai)
Zero Carbon Future Platform in the Blue Zone
Dubai
United Arab Emirates

This panel will focus on the role of oil and gas producers, including National Oil Companies and International Oil Companies, on the road to net-zero. 

Economic and geopolitical crises continue to challenge assumptions regarding the role of fossil fuel producers and the future of the energy system, as even the countries most committed to climate action seek out new sources and potentially lock in fossil fuel consumption for decades. It is clear that any energy transformation will require the participation — and some leadership — from major oil and gas producers.

Meanwhile, national oil companies, not private producers, produce a majority of the world’s oil and gas, and hold a much larger share of the world’s oil and gas reserves. Yet climate policy continues to primarily focus on and target major private producers, which face a far different set of resources and responsibilities.

This event will explore what accountability looks like for the sector and how climate action can be retooled to better support and drive the transition of not only oil majors in the West, but also that of national oil companies and producers in the Global South.

Tags
Pollutants (SLCPs)
Themes