خطوات نحو تربية المواشي منخفضة الكربون في إيسواتيني

قدمت إيسواتيني مساهمتها المقررة المحددة وطنيا (INDC) إلى اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ (UNFCCC) في عام 2015 مع خطط لتحديث المساهمات المحددة وطنيا قبل المؤتمر السادس والعشرين للأطراف (COP26) في نوفمبر 26. يعتبر تقييم التخفيف من غازات الاحتباس الحراري مكونًا رئيسيًا لإنشاء هذا الالتزام بالتخفيف من تغير المناخ.  

يعمل Eswatini مع CCAC شركاء وخبراء محليين في أنشطة لدعم تطوير قائمة جرد من المستوى 2 لغازات الدفيئة في قطاع الثروة الحيوانية في إيسواتيني وتقديم توصيات إلى وزارة السياحة والشؤون البيئية ووزارة الزراعة وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرين بشأن الخطوات الممكنة نحو تربية مواشي منخفضة الكربون القطاع ولإعدادها NDC المنقحة

اهدافنا

يهدف هذا المشروع إلى دعم تطوير مخزون غازات الدفيئة من المستوى 2 في قطاع الثروة الحيوانية ، للتوصية بالخطوات التالية المحتملة نحو قطاع الثروة الحيوانية منخفض الكربون ، لتطوير تقييم إمكانية الحد من غازات الاحتباس الحراري عبر قطاع الزراعة في مملكة إيسواتيني ، لدعم وزارة السياحة والشؤون البيئية نحو تطوير مراجعة المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا.  


ما كانوا يفعلون

ساعد هذا المشروع إيسواتيني:
  

  • تحديد مدخلات البيانات (فئات الحيوانات وسلة الأعلاف ومعلمات القطيع) ، والتي تضمنت تطوير مصفوفة من فئات الحيوانات (أنظمة الزراعة لكل مجموعة من الحيوانات) لجمع البيانات (حول أعداد الحيوانات والمعايير الفنية) واحتساب انبعاثات المستوى 2  
  • تحديد فجوات البيانات واقتراح بروتوكولات الحصول على البيانات 
  • تحديد فرص التخفيف من حدة تغير المناخ لقطاع الحيوانات المجترة
  • تطوير القدرات عبر الإنترنت لدعم مخزون غازات الدفيئة من المستوى 2
  • تحديد مؤشرات تغير المناخ ، وإجراءات جمع البيانات ومعالجتها ، وتوصيات المنظمات حيث يمكن الحصول على بيانات المؤشرات لقطاع الزراعة  
  • تطوير غازات الدفيئة المتكاملة ، SLCP، وتقييم ملوثات الهواء في قطاع الزراعة وتوصيات لإدراج غازات الدفيئة ، SLCP والتخفيف من ملوثات الهواء في قطاع الزراعة في المساهمة المحددة وطنيا المعدلة في إسواتيني 

لماذا نقوم بهذا العمل

تلعب الزراعة دورًا مهمًا في اقتصاد البلاد ، حيث تمثل 8.6 في المائة من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للدولة في عام 2017. وقد ساهم قطاع الثروة الحيوانية في ما يقرب من 51 في المائة من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للزراعة. تشير التقديرات إلى أن سلسلة قيمة لحوم البقر خلقت قيمة مضافة قدرها 85 مليون يورو ، مع ضخ مباشر للاقتصاد العام قدره 4 ملايين يورو بسبب الضرائب. ومع ذلك ، هناك عجز قدره 23 مليون يورو في الميزان التجاري ، مما يشير إلى أن إيسواتيني يعتمد على الواردات لتغطية الطلب الوطني. 

المبادئ التوجيهية للهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ (IPCC) لعام 2006 بشأن قوائم الجرد الوطنية لغازات الدفيئة هي الوثيقة التوجيهية لهذا المشروع. توفر المبادئ التوجيهية العديد من الخيارات المنهجية لتقدير انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة والتي تم تنظيمها في شكل ثلاثة مستويات (المستوى 1 و 2 و 3) التي تصف وتربط مختلف مستويات التفاصيل التي يمكن من خلالها إجراء التقديرات. بشكل عام ، الانتقال إلى مستويات أعلى يحسن الدقة من المخزون ويقلل من عدم اليقين ، ولكن التعقيد والموارد المطلوبة لإجراء عمليات الجرد تزداد أيضًا للمستويات الأعلى (المستوى 2 و 3).  

استخدم أحدث جرد لظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري لعام 2018 الذي تم إجراؤه في البلاد أساليب المستوى 1 لتقدير الانبعاثات من قطاع الثروة الحيوانية. هذا هو المستوى الأبسط الذي يتم اعتماده إذا كانت البيانات ومعاملات الانبعاث الخاصة بالبلد محدودة. ال CCAC يهدف المشروع المدعوم إلى تحسين هذا العمل لتطوير إطار عمل للنمذجة ومجموعة من الأدوات التي سيتم استخدامها لتطوير مخزون المستوى 2 من غازات الدفيئة لقطاع الثروة الحيوانية. 

تطبق طرق جرد غازات الدفيئة من المستوى 2 معاملات الانبعاث الخاصة بالبلد وتستخدم النماذج الافتراضية للهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ. عادةً ما تُستخدم الاستبانة الزمنية والمكانية الأعلى والمزيد من بيانات الأنشطة المصنفة في المستوى 2 لتتوافق مع المعاملات المحددة من قبل الدولة لمناطق معينة وفئات استخدام الأراضي أو الثروة الحيوانية المتخصصة. يوفر المستوى 2 دقة أفضل من المستوى 1 بمتطلبات بيانات وموارد معتدلة. 


مصطلحات البحث
المناطق
الملوثات (SLCPs)

Steps towards low-carbon livestock in Eswatini

Eswatini submitted their Intended Nationally Determined Contribution (INDC) to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) in 2015 with plans to update their NDCs before the 26th Conference of the Parties (COP26) in November 2021. A greenhouse gas mitigation assessment is a key component of establishing this climate change mitigation commitment.  

Eswatini is working with CCAC partners and local experts on activities to support the development of a Tier 2 GHG inventory in Eswatini’s livestock sector and provide recommendations to the Ministry of Tourism and Environmental Affairs, the Ministry of Agriculture and other relevant stakeholders, on possible steps towards a low-carbon livestock sector and for the preparation of their revised NDC

Objectives

This project aims to support the development of Tier 2 GHG inventory in the livestock sector, to recommend possible next steps towards a low carbon livestock sector, to develop an assessment of the potential to reduce greenhouse gases across the agriculture sector in the Kingdom of Eswatini, to support the Ministry of Tourism and Environmental Affairs towards developing the revision to their NDC.  


What we're doing

This project has helped Eswatini:
  

  • Define data inputs (animal categories, feed basket and herd parameters), which included developing a matrix of animal categories (farming systems per animal cohorts) for the collection of data (on animal numbers and technical parameters) and computation of Tier 2 emissions  
  • Identify data gaps and propose data acquisition protocols 
  • Identify climate mitigation opportunities for the ruminant sector
  • Deliver on-line capacity development in support of Tier 2 GHG inventory
  • Identify the climate change indicators, data collection and processing procedures, and recommendations of the organizations where indicator data can be obtained for the agriculture sector  
  • Develop an integrated GHG, SLCP, and air pollutant assessment for the agriculture sector and recommendations for the inclusion of GHG, SLCP and air pollutant mitigation in the agriculture sector in Eswatini's revised NDC 

Why we're doing this work

Agriculture has an important role in the country’s economy, accounting for 8.6 percent of the country Gross Domestic Product (GDP) in 2017. The livestock sector contributed to nearly 51 percent of the agriculture GDP. It is estimated that the beef value chain created a value added of 85 million euros, with a direct injection to the public economy of 4 million euros due to taxes. However, there is a deficit of 23 million euros in the trade balance, which indicates that Eswatini is depending on imports to cover the national demand. 

The 2006 Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) guidelines for National GHG inventories is the guiding document for this project. The guidelines provide several methodological options for estimating GHG emissions which are structured in the form of three tiers (Tier 1, 2, and 3) that describe and connect the various levels of detail at which estimates can be made. In general, moving to higher tiers improves the accuracy of the inventory and reduces uncertainty, but the complexity and resources required for conducting inventories also increases for higher tiers (Tier 2 and 3).  

The latest 2018 greenhouse inventory that was undertaken in the country used Tier 1 methods to estimate emissions from the livestock sector. This is the simplest tier that is adopted if there is limited country-specific data and emission factors. The CCAC supported project aims at improving this work to develop a modelling framework and a set of tools that will be used to develop the Tier 2 GHG inventory for the livestock sector. 

Tier 2 GHG inventory methods apply country-specific emission factors and use IPCC default models. Higher temporal and spatial resolution and more disaggregated activity data are typically used in Tier 2 to correspond with country-defined coefficients for specific regions and specialized land-use or livestock categories. Tier 2 provides better accuracy than Tier 1 with moderate data and resource requirements. 


Tags
Regions
Pollutants (SLCPs)