دعم تحديث NDC في غانا

تلقت غانا دعم التخطيط الوطني من Climate and Clean Air Coalition (CCAC) منذ عام 2013. كان أحد مخرجات هذا التعاون هو خطة العمل الوطنية لغانا للتخفيف من الملوثات المناخية قصيرة العمر (SLCP) ، الذي تم الانتهاء منه في عام 2018. تحدد الخطة 16 تدبيراً قادراً على الحد بشكل كبير من انبعاثات غاز الميثان والكربون الأسود ، فضلاً عن ثاني أكسيد الكربون وملوثات الهواء الأخرى.

في عام 2021 ، تلقت غانا دعمًا من CCAC لتحديث أول مساهمة محددة وطنياً (NDC) بما يتوافق مع محليات SLCP خطة. تضمنت مراجعة المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا في غانا ثلاثة مكونات: XNUMX) المراجعة الفنية ، XNUMX) التدريس وزيادة الوعي وإشراك أصحاب المصلحة ، و XNUMX) المشاركة السياسية رفيعة المستوى المستنيرة بنتائج المراجعة الفنية.     

اهدافنا

لتعزيز الأولويات المحددة في غانا الوطنية SLCP الخطة ، تم تحديد ثلاثة أهداف عامة:
   

  • إدراج SLCPفي تحديث المساهمات المحددة وطنيا لغانا كطريقة لتحقيق التأييد السياسي رفيع المستوى للأولويات المحددة في الوطنية الغانية SLCP الخطة.  
  • التركيز على تنفيذ تدابير التخفيف المحددة في الوطنية SLCP الخطة.  
  • إدراج SLCPضمن أطر الرصد والتقييم ذات الصلة. وهذا من شأنه أن يمكّن من الرصد المستدام لتنفيذ إجراءات الحد SLCPضمن أنظمة القياس والإبلاغ والتحقق الخاصة بتغير المناخ ، وكذلك ضمن عملية الرصد والتقييم الوطنية في غانا.   

النشاطات

النشاط 1: تضمن SLCPق في المساهمات المحددة وطنيا المحدثة في غانا: 

  • تحديد SLCP وخفض انبعاثات ملوثات الهواء جنبًا إلى جنب مع غازات الاحتباس الحراري في تقييمات التخفيف التي أجريت لمراجعة المساهمات المحددة وطنيا  
  • تحديد SLCP إجراءات التخفيف التي يجب تضمينها في مراجعة المساهمات المحددة وطنيا  
  • تقييم التكاليف والآثار الاجتماعية ل SLCP تخفيف 

النشاط 2: تحديد الإجراءات اللازمة لتنفيذ تدابير التخفيف في غانا الوطنية SLCP خطط:

  • حدد الإجراءات التي يتم اتخاذها حاليًا والتي يمكن أن تسهل التنفيذ 
  • حدد الإجراءات الإضافية اللازمة لزيادة التنفيذ  
  • تحديد التمويل اللازم لضمان التنفيذ 

منذ الانتهاء من وضع غانا الوطني SLCP خطة ، كان هناك عدد من التغييرات في الظروف. على سبيل المثال ، بدأت غانا في إجراء مراجعة للمساهمات المحددة وطنيًا الأولى المقدمة إلى اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ في سبتمبر 2016. وتوقعت غانا أن تتكون مراجعة المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا من ثلاثة مكونات ؛ XNUMX) المراجعة الفنية ، XNUMX) التدريس ، وزيادة الوعي وإشراك أصحاب المصلحة ، و XNUMX) المشاركة السياسية رفيعة المستوى المستنيرة بنتائج المراجعة الفنية. تشكل مراجعة المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا فرصة لتضمين إجراءات SLCP التخطيط في عملية المراجعة. 

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، كانت هناك أيضًا فرصة للمضي قدمًا في تنفيذ التدابير المدرجة في الخطة الوطنية للتكامل الاجتماعي والتكنولوجي ووضع العناصر اللازمة لتضمينها SLCPق في أطر الرصد والتقييم ذات الصلة في غانا. 


نتائج

من بين 16 تدبيرا مذكورة في الوطنية الغانية SLCP الخطة ، 11 مدرجة في غانا الأولى NDC المحدث. كما ذكرت المساهمة المحددة وطنيا) NDC (أربعة إجراءات إضافية تستهدف مصادر SLCP الانبعاثات.  

مساهمة CCAC ومعهد ستوكهولم للبيئة مذكوران في مقدمة NDC المحدث المقدمة إلى اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ في نوفمبر 2021. 


تحديثات المشروع

مصطلحات البحث

Supporting Ghana's NDC update

Ghana has received national planning support from the Climate and Clean Air Coalition (CCAC) since 2013. One of the outputs of this cooperation has been Ghana’s National Action Plan to Mitigate Short-Lived Climate Pollutants (SLCP), which was finalized in 2018. The Plan identifies 16 measures capable of substantially reducing emissions of methane and black carbon, as well as CO2 and other air pollutants.

In 2021, Ghana received support from the CCAC to update its first Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC) in coherence with its National SLCP Plan. Ghana’s NDC revision comprised three components: i) technical review, ii) teaching, awareness raising and stakeholder engagement, and iii) high-level political engagement informed by the results of the technical review.     

Objectives

To advance the priorities identified in Ghana’s National SLCP Plan, three overall aims were identified:
   

  • Inclusion of SLCPs in Ghana's NDC update as a way to achieve high-level political endorsement for the priorities identified in Ghana’s National SLCP Plan.  
  • Focus on implementation of the mitigation measures identified in the National SLCP Plan.  
  • Inclusion of SLCPs within relevant monitoring and evaluation frameworks. This would enable the sustainable monitoring of implementation of actions to reduce SLCPs within climate change MRV systems, as well as within the National monitoring and evaluation process in Ghana.   

Activities

Activity 1: Include SLCPs in Ghana's updated NDC: 

  • Quantify SLCP and air pollutant emissions reductions alongside greenhouse gases in the mitigation assessments conducted for the NDC revision  
  • Identify SLCP mitigation measures to include in the NDC revision  
  • Assess the costs and social implications of SLCP mitigation 

Activity 2: Identify actions to implement the mitigation measures in Ghana's National SLCP Plan:

  • Identify the actions currently being taken that can facilitate implementation 
  • Identify the additional actions needed to increase implementation  
  • Determine the funding needed to ensure implementation 

Since the finalization of the Ghana National SLCP Plan, there have been a number of changes in circumstances. For example, Ghana started undertaking a revision to their First NDC submitted to the UNFCCC in September 2016. Ghana’s envisioned their NDC revision to be comprised of three components; i) technical review, ii) teaching, awareness raising and stakeholder engagement, and iii) high-level political engagement informed by the results of the technical review. The NDC revision constitutes an opportunity to include the measures of the SLCP Plan in the revision process. 

In addition, there was also the opportunity in moving forward with the implementation of the measures included in the National SCLP Plan and putting in place the elements needed to include SLCPs in relevant monitoring and evaluation frameworks in Ghana. 


Outcomes

Of the 16 measures mentioned in Ghana's National SLCP Plan, 11 are included in Ghana’s first updated NDC. The NDC also mentions four additional measures that target sources of SLCP emissions.  

The contribution of the CCAC and the Stockholm Environment Institute are mentioned within introduction of the updated NDC submitted to UNFCCC in November 2021. 


Project updates

Tags