تعزيز طموحات المساهمات المحددة وطنيا مع التخفيف في قطاع الزراعة

السنة
2017
التمويل:
تم تمويل الشريك

بدأت العديد من البلدان في تطوير خطط مناخية وطنية محسّنة ومراجعة مساهماتها المحددة وطنياً (NDCs) بموجب اتفاقية باريس. يُطلب من البلدان تقديم الجولة التالية من المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا (المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا الجديدة أو المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا المحدثة) بحلول عام 2020 وكل خمس سنوات بعد ذلك (على سبيل المثال بحلول عام 2020 و 2025 و 2030). إن تطوير هذه المساهمات المحددة وطنيا المعززة ، والعملية الدولية التي ترسي الأساس لها ، يوفر فرصة ثمينة لتسليط الضوء على الدور الحاسم الذي تلعبه الزراعة في الحد من الانبعاثات ، وحيث يمكنها تعزيز العمل مع ضمان الأمن الغذائي. والبلدان مدعوة أيضاً إلى الإعلان عن "استراتيجيات التنمية طويلة الأجل لانبعاثات غازات الدفيئة المنخفضة وطويلة الأجل" بحلول عام 2020 ؛ تساعد هذه الإستراتيجيات في تحديد سياق تعزيز المساهمات المحددة وطنيا للبلدان. 

تعد المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا رافعة مهمة لتعزيز الممارسات الزراعية الإنتاجية والمرنة والشاملة ، للحفاظ على ارتفاع درجة الحرارة العالمية عند 1.5 درجة مئوية. يمكن أن تساعد في زيادة دعم التكيف ، وبناء مرونة صغار المزارعين والمزارعين المعرضين للخطر ، وتقليل الانبعاثات في قطاع الزراعة ، ودمج المناخ مع أهداف التنمية المستدامة الأخرى ، وجذب الاستثمار والدعم. 

• CCAC تعمل مبادرة الزراعة مع البلدان لتحديد الإجراءات والسياسات والأهداف الطموحة بشكل متزايد عبر النظام الغذائي. من خلال إعطاء الأولوية لتعزيز الأمن الغذائي وسبل العيش ، نعرض حلولاً للحد من الملوثات المناخية قصيرة العمر (SLCPق) التي تقدم نتائج سريعة وفوائد متعددة للمزارعين ، وجودة المناخ والهواء. 

لماذا هذا العمل مهم

يؤثر تغير المناخ بالفعل بشكل مباشر وغير مباشر على إنتاج الغذاء في أجزاء كثيرة من العالم ، مما يتسبب في خسائر المحاصيل وتعطيل دورات النمو وتضاؤل ​​فرص العمل. من المرجح أن تصبح هذه الآثار حادة بشكل متزايد بحلول عام 2030 وما بعده ، مما يعرض الأمن الغذائي العالمي وسبل عيش مئات الملايين من الناس للخطر. 

زراعي SLCP من المتوقع أن ترتفع الانبعاثات بشكل أسرع في البلدان النامية بسبب زيادة الإنتاجية الزراعية لتلبية الطلب على الغذاء والحد من الجوع والفقر. ومع ذلك ، هناك حاجة واضحة لتحقيق التوازن بين خفض الانبعاثات والإنتاجية الزراعية والأمن الغذائي حيث يعتمد ما يقرب من 800 مليون شخص في المناطق الريفية - أو 78 في المائة من أفقر سكان العالم وأكثرهم انعدامًا للأمن الغذائي - على الزراعة في حياتهم وسبل عيشهم. غالبًا ما يفتقر أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة والمزارعات إلى الصوت والسلطة داخل سلاسل القيمة الزراعية العالمية ، مما يعني تنفيذ تدابير للحد SLCP يجب أن تأخذ الانبعاثات من الإنتاج الزراعي في الاعتبار هذه التفاوتات الأوسع نطاقا ، وأن تكون أولوية للحكومات والشركات. زراعي SLCP يجب أيضًا أن تقترن تدابير الخفض بجهود لمعالجة جانب الطلب SLCP انبعاثات مدفوعة بالنظم الغذائية والاستهلاك وهدر الطعام وفقدانه والتخلص منه. 

على الرغم من أن أكثر من 90 في المائة من المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا الحالية تشير إلى الزراعة بطريقة ما ، فإن جولات 2020 والجولات المستقبلية من مراجعات وتحديثات المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا توفر فرصة لاغتنام الفرص المتاحة في قطاع الزراعة بشكل كامل. وهذا يعني أن البلدان بحاجة إلى أن تكون أكثر وضوحًا بشأن الإجراءات والاستثمارات التي تنوي القيام بها ، وما هو المطلوب لتحقيق هذه التغييرات ، وإذا كان ذلك ممكنًا ، ما هو الدعم المطلوب. 


الاوسمة (تاج)
الثيمات

Enhancing NDC ambitions with mitigation in the agriculture sector

Year
2017
Funding
Partner Funded

Many countries have started developing enhanced national climate plans and revising their nationally determined contributions (NDCs) under the Paris Agreement. Countries are requested to submit the next round of NDCs (new NDCs or updated NDCs) by 2020 and every five years thereafter (e.g. by 2020, 2025, 2030). The development of these enhanced NDCs, and the international process that lays the groundwork for them, present a valuable opportunity to highlight the critical role agriculture plays in reducing emissions, and where it can strengthen action while ensuring food security. Countries are also invited to communicate mid-century “long-term low GHG emission development strategies” by 2020; these strategies help set the context for countries’ NDC enhancement. 

NDCs are an important lever to foster productive, resilient, and inclusive farming practices, to keep the global temperature rise to 1.5°C. They can help increase support for adaptation, build the resilience of small-scale and vulnerable farmers, reduce emissions in the agriculture sector, integrate climate with other sustainable development objectives, and attract investment and support. 

The CCAC Agriculture Initiative works with countries to identify increasingly ambitious actions, policies and targets across the food system. By prioritizing enhanced food security and livelihoods, we demonstrate solutions to reduce short-lived climate pollutants (SLCPs) that deliver quick results and multiple benefits for farmers, the climate and air quality. 

Why this work is important

Climate change is already directly and indirectly impacting food production in many parts of the world, causing crop losses, disrupting growing cycles and dwindling employment opportunities. These impacts are likely to become increasingly severe by 2030 and beyond, placing global food security and the livelihoods of hundreds of millions of people at risk. 

Agricultural SLCP emissions are expected to rise fastest in developing countries due to increased agricultural productivity to meet food demand and reduce hunger and poverty. However, there is a clear need to balance emissions reductions with agriculture productivity and food security as close to 800 million people in rural areas – or 78 percent of the world’s poorest and most food insecure people – rely on agriculture for their lives and livelihoods. Smallholder and women farmers often lack voice and power within global agricultural value chains, meaning the implementation of measures to reduce SLCP emissions from agricultural production must consider these broader inequalities, and be a priority for governments and businesses. Agricultural SLCP reduction measures must also be coupled with efforts to tackle demand-side SLCP emissions driven by diets and consumption, and food waste, loss and disposal. 

Although more than 90 percent of current NDCs mention agriculture in some way, the 2020 and future rounds of NDC revisions and updates presents an opportunity to fully seize the opportunities available in the agriculture sector. This means countries need to be more explicit about the actions and investments they intend to make, what it will take to achieve those changes, and, if applicable, what support is needed. 


Tags
Themes