غابون

CCAC شريك منذ ذلك الحين
2020

عن المكتب

جمهورية الجابون ، وهي واحدة من أكثر البلدان المتقدمة في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء ، معرضة بشكل خاص لتغير المناخ. سواحل البلاد ، والتي هي موطن لأكثر من 75% من سكان البلاد معرضون لخطر الفيضانات بسبب ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر وزيادة التعرية وزيادة شدة العواصف. من المتوقع أيضًا أن يؤدي تغير المناخ إلى زيادة الضغط على قطاعات المياه والزراعة والصحة العامة في البلاد. 

باعتبارها واحدة من أكبر خمسة منتجين للنفط في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء، تمكنت الجابون من تنمية اقتصادها مع الحفاظ على مستوى منخفض لانبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري. تلعب غاباتها الشاسعة ، التي تحتفظ بها الدولة بنشاط ، دورًا رئيسيًا باعتبارها "بالوعة الكربون" ، حيث تمتص ما مجموعه 140 مليون طن من ثاني أكسيد الكربون كل عام. على الرغم من أن الغابون لا تساهم كثيرًا في تغير المناخ ، إلا أن البلاد تتخذ إجراءات لمكافحة آثاره عبر القطاعات. 

أصبحت الجابون شريكًا لـ Climate and Clean Air Coalition في عام 2020 ، للتأكيد على التزامها بمكافحة تلوث الهواء وتغير المناخ. لقد صدقوا على اتفاق باريس وتعديل كيغالي لبروتوكول مونتريال.  

أبلغت الجابون مساهماتها المقررة المحددة وطنياً (INDC) في اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ (UNFCCC) في عام 2015. في المساهمات المحددة على المستوى الوطني ، تسلط الحكومة الضوء على التزامها بالحد من انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري على الأقل. شنومك٪ بواسطة شنومكس. كما أنه يؤكد عدة أهداف خفض غازات الاحتباس الحراري الخاصة بالقطاع بما في ذلك 31٪ من توليد الكهرباء و 16٪ من قطاع النفايات و 8٪ من قطاع النقل. 

انضمت جمهورية الجابون أيضًا إلى الولايات المتحدة والاتحاد الأوروبي بقيادة الولايات المتحدة Global Methane Pledge، الذي تم إطلاقه في COP26 في غلاسكو في نوفمبر 2021. إلى جانب 111 دولة ، تعهدت الجابون بدفع العمل لدعم الجهد العالمي الجماعي لخفض انبعاثات الميثان بنسبة 30٪ بحلول عام 2030 ، مقارنة بمستويات عام 2020.  

كما تعمل الجابون على قدم وساق فيما يتعلق بقياسات انبعاثات المركبات والإجراءات للحد من المواد المستنفدة لطبقة الأوزون. ستعمل الدولة مع CCAC لوضع إطار تنظيمي واستراتيجية وطنية بشأن جودة الهواء ، وتعزيز القدرات التقنية والمؤسسية ، وتعبئة الموارد اللازمة لوضع هذه المشاريع موضع التنفيذ. 

يسلط الضوء على سياسات الجابون

القانون 07/2014 بشأن حماية البيئة المنفذة في عام 2014 تشمل تدابير تتعلق بقطاعات متعددة بما في ذلك النفط والغاز والنفايات وجودة الهواء. يحدد القانون مبادئ ووسائل حماية البيئة في الغابون ، مثل الحفاظ على الموارد الطبيعية واستخدامها المستدام ، ومكافحة التلوث ، والتعليم البيئي ، والمعلومات والمراقبة البيئية. كما يشير إلى معايير جودة الهواء ، ومراقبة الانبعاثات ، وجرد ملوثات الهواء ، ومراقبة الهواء وكذلك المتطلبات المتعلقة بتقليل النفايات وإعادة استخدامها.  

نفذت الجابون الاستراتيجية الوطنية للمكننة الزراعية (SNMAG) في عام 2018 ، تسليط الضوء على تطبيق الميكنة الزراعية في مختلف جوانب الزراعة بما في ذلك قطاع الثروة الحيوانية ، وتربية أسماك المياه العذبة ، وإعداد التربة ، وإزالة الأعشاب الضارة والمحاصيل ، ومكافحة الآفات والأمراض ، والري ، والصرف ، وغيرها. يهدف هذا الإطار إلى تحسين إنتاجية الزراعة لضمان الأمن الغذائي للبلاد. وفقًا للاستراتيجية ، تتم الميكنة باستخدام مصادر الطاقة النظيفة والمتجددة ، لتتماشى مع تحقيق هدف التنمية المستدامة بشأن الطاقة النظيفة وبأسعار معقولة. سيساعد استخدام الطاقة النظيفة في قطاع الزراعة أيضًا في تقليل انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري من هذا القطاع. 

نشاطات أخرى

جودة الهواء  

  • 2014: القانون 07/2014 بشأن حماية البيئة. يشير إلى معايير جودة الهواء ، ومراقبة الانبعاثات ، وجرد ملوثات الهواء ، ومراقبة الهواء وكذلك المتطلبات المتعلقة بتقليل النفايات وإعادة استخدامها. 

زراعة  

  • 2018: الاستراتيجية الوطنية للميكنة الزراعية بالجابون (SNMAG).
    • في هذا الإطار ، سيتم تطبيق الميكنة الزراعية على طول سلسلة القيمة ، على جوانب الزراعة مثل: الإنتاج الحيواني ، وتربية أسماك المياه العذبة ، وإعداد التربة ، وإزالة الأعشاب الضارة ، والحصاد ، ومكافحة الآفات والأمراض في المحاصيل ، والري والصرف ، والنقل ، والمعالجة و تخزين المنتجات الزراعية. 
    • ستكون مستويات وأنواع التقنيات المستخدمة متوافقة مع السياقات الزراعية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية والجوانب البيئية للبلد.  
    • بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، ستعتمد الميكنة على استخدام المصادر النظيفة والطاقات المتجددة لدعم تحقيق هدف التنمية المستدامة رقم 7 بشأن الطاقة النظيفة وبأسعار معقولة. 

نفاية

النفط والغاز 

  • 2019: قانون رقم 002/2019 الذي ينظم قطاع المحروقات في جمهورية الغابون.
    • ثبت أن جميع الموارد الهيدروكربونية والبنية التحتية الأساسية والمعلومات المكتسبة أو المنتجة في عمليات النفط هي ملكية حصرية للدولة  
    • لا يمكن تنفيذ عمليات تطوير النفط والغاز إلا بعد الحصول على إذن قانوني 
    • ينص القانون أيضًا على أن الأنشطة الهيدروكربونية يجب أن تتم وفقًا للمبادئ والقواعد المتعلقة بالتنمية المستدامة والجودة والصحة والنظافة والسلامة والبيئة. 
    • يحظر حرق الغاز وتنفيسه في جمهورية الغابون. ومع ذلك ، بناءً على طلب المقاول وبناءً على مشورة وزارة الهيدروكربونات ، يجوز التصريح بالحرق والتنفيس في غضون فترة تحددها وزارة البيئة. 
  • 2014: القانون 07/2014 بشأن حماية البيئة
    • يحدد هذا القانون مبادئ ووسائل حماية البيئة في الغابون ، بما في ذلك الحفاظ على الموارد الطبيعية واستخدامها المستدام ، ومكافحة التلوث ، والتثقيف البيئي ، والمعلومات والمراقبة البيئية.  
    • يشير إلى سلسلة من الخطط والأدوات ذات الصلة ، مثل خطة العمل المناخية ، والخطة البيئية الوطنية ونظام المعلومات البيئية.  
    • تحدد اللائحة متطلبات إجراء تقييم الأثر البيئي للتطورات التي قد تضر بالبيئة 
    • يشير إلى معايير جودة الهواء ، ومراقبة الانبعاثات ، وجرد ملوثات الهواء ، ومراقبة الهواء وكذلك المتطلبات المتعلقة بتقليل النفايات وإعادة استخدامها. 

العنوان

وزارة الغابات والمحيطات والبيئة وتغير المناخ
شارع تريومفال، ليبرفيل، الجابون
الموقع الإلكتروني

موارد ذات الصلة

لا توجد نتائج بعد.

Gabon

CCAC Partner since
2020

About

The Republic of Gabon, one of the most developed countries in Sub-Saharan Africa is particularly vulnerable to climate change. The country’s coastlines, which are home to over 75% of the country’s population are at risk of flooding from sea-level rise, increased erosion, and increased storm severity. Climate change is also expected to put increasing pressure on the country’s water, agriculture, and public health sectors. 

As one of the top five oil producers in Sub-Saharan Africa, Gabon has managed to grow its economy while maintaining a low greenhouse gas emission profile. Its vast forests, which the country actively maintains, play a major role as a "carbon sink," absorbing a total of 140 million tons of CO2 every year. Although Gabon contributes very little to climate change, the country is taking action to fight its impacts across sectors. 

Gabon became a partner of the Climate and Clean Air Coalition in 2020, underlining its commitment to combat air pollution and climate change. They have ratified the Paris Agreement and the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol.  

Gabon had communicated their Intended Nationally Determined Contributions (INDC) to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) in 2015. In the INDCs, the government highlights its commitment to reducing greenhouse gas emissions by at least 50% by 2025. It also underlines several sector-specific greenhouse gas reduction targets including 31% from the electricity generation, 16% from the waste sector and 8% from the transport sector. 

The Republic of Gabon also joined the U.S and EU-led Global Methane Pledge, which was launched at COP26 in Glasgow in November 2021. Alongside 111 countries, Gabon pledged to drive action to support the collective global effort to reduce methane emissions by 30% by 2030, compared to the 2020 levels.  

Gabon also has work underway regarding the measurements of vehicle emissions and actions to reduce the ozone-depleting substances.  The country will work with CCAC to put in place a regulatory framework and national strategy on air quality, strengthen technical and institutional capacity, and mobilize the necessary resources to put these projects into action. 

Highlights of Gabon’s policies

The Law 07/2014 on Environmental Protection implemented in 2014 includes measures related to multiple sectors including oil and gas, waste, and air quality. The law defines the principles and means of environmental protection in Gabon, such as the preservation and sustainable use of natural resources, pollution control, environmental education, and environmental information and monitoring. It also refers to air quality standards, emissions monitoring, inventorying of air pollutants, air monitoring as well as requirements related to waste reduction and reuse.  

Gabon implemented the National Agricultural Mechanization Strategy (SNMAG) in 2018, highlighting the application of agricultural mechanization to various aspects of agriculture including the livestock sector, freshwater fish farming, soil preparation, crop weeding and harvest, crops pest and diseases control, irrigation, and drainage, and others. This framework aims to improve the productivity of its Agriculture to ensure the food security of the country. According to the strategy, the mechanization is done using clean and renewable energy sources, to align with the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goal on clean and affordable energy. Using clean energy in agriculture sector will also help reducing the greenhouse gas emissions from the sector. 

Other Activities

Air Quality  

  • 2014: Law 07/2014 on Environmental Protection. Refers to air quality standards, emissions monitoring, inventorying of air pollutants, air monitoring as well as requirements related to waste reduction and reuse. 

Agriculture  

  • 2018: La Stratégie nationale de mécanisation agricole du Gabon (SNMAG).
    • In this framework, agricultural mechanization will be applied along the value chain, to aspects of agriculture such as: animal production, freshwater fish farming, soil preparation, crops weeding, harvest, crops pest and diseases control, irrigation and drainage, transportation, processing and storage of agricultural products. 
    • Levels and the types of technologies used will be in consistent with agronomic, socio-economic contexts and environmental aspects of the country.  
    • In addition, mechanization will be based on the use of clean sources and renewable energies to support the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) No. 7 on clean and affordable energy. 

Waste

Oil and Gas 

  • 2019: Law n ° 002/2019 regulating the sector of hydrocarbons in the Gabonese Republic.
    • Established that all hydrocarbon resources, essential infrastructure and information acquired or produced in oil operations are the exclusive property of the state  
    • Oil and gas developments can only be undertaken after due authorization 
    • The law also states that hydrocarbon activities must be carried out in accordance with the principles and rules relating to sustainable development, quality, health, hygiene, safety and the environment 
    • Flaring and venting of gas are prohibited in the Gabonese Republic. However, at the request of the contractor and on the advice of the Ministry of Hydrocarbons, flaring and venting may be authorised within a period determined by the Ministry of Environment 
  • 2014: Law 07/2014 on Environmental Protection
    • This law defines the principles and means of environmental protection in Gabon, including the preservation and sustainable use of natural resources, pollution control, environmental education, and environmental information and monitoring.  
    • Refers to a series of pertaining plans and tools, such as a climate action plan, a national environmental plan and an environmental information system.  
    • The regulation establishes the requirement of conducting an environmental impact assessment for developments that may harm the environment 
    • Refers to air quality standards, emissions monitoring, inventorying of air pollutants, air monitoring as well as requirements related to waste reduction and reuse. 

Address

Ministry of Forests, Oceans, Environment and Climate Change
Boulevard Triomphal, Libreville, Gabon

Related resources

No results yet.

Related news and updates

No results yet.